Books

Book Review – The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

the truth about forever cover

I was recommended The Truth About Forever by a friend who absolutely loves it (she also let me borrow her copy) and I’m so glad I took the time to read it. It was the perfect antidote to the heavy literature I’ve been reading for university lately.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen revolves around 16-year-old Macy Queen. Macy is ‘fine’. Everything about her life is just ‘fine’. Macy’s boyfriend is perfect and he expects her to be the same. However, when he goes off to ‘Brain Camp’ for the summer Macy’s life takes on a new meaning as she finally starts to realise that she isn’t ‘fine’ at all.

I really liked Macy’s character. She isn’t one-dimensional, like I expected her to be, and Dessen obviously worked hard to give Macy layers beneath her ‘just fine’ exterior. Macy has typical teenage issues, like her boyfriend and her appearance, and not so typical teenage issues, like the death of her father, and I think this mix of typical and atypical issues makes her more realistic. Macy strives for perfection when it comes to her appearance but thankfully she isn’t perfect as she’s short for her age and her hair turns slightly green when she goes swimming. Macy’s relationships with the other characters are very realistic, especially with her mother and her sister. Overall, Macy was a likable, realistic character.

Wes is what I’d consider a typical love interest. He’s tall, dark, and handsome. He’s been to reform school. His girlfriend is a drug addict who is in rehab for most of the book. He’s an artist. Nothing about Wes really stands out to me, even if he is a nicer character compared to Jason. Jason is definitely more interesting because he contributes to Macy’s issues with being perfect but I didn’t like him. These male characters aren’t as interesting as Macy, or other female characters such as Kristy, but they serve a purpose as love interests. I wouldn’t say this is a love triangle but I know that people will disagree with me on that point.

Wes and Macy’s relationship is subtle, even if Kristy does push the subject with Macy often. Dessen doesn’t use a lot of physical action to create chemistry between Macy and Wes but she does use dialogue in an amazing way. Their relationship is built solely on their game of Truth and this gives a different dimension to their relationship as they learn a lot about each other without being physically intimate. I found this technique to be very convincing.

I found Dessen’s writing style easy and fast paced. The plot of The Truth About Forever moved quickly but it didn’t seem rushed. Although, towards the end I did wonder how Dessen was going to bring the plot to a close in such a short amount of words. I only spent a few hours reading the book in total because it was so easy to read and it was an enjoyable way to spend two evenings.

While The Truth About Forever isn’t my usual style of read I did enjoy it and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is wanting to read something simple and enjoyable.

4/5

Started: 1st June 2015
Completed: 2nd June 2015

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. This is one of my favorite Sarah Dessen novels I’ve read, although it’s been a long time since I read it! Glad you enjoyed it and it was such a fast read for you 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve never read any of her others but I think I might because I enjoyed this one so much. I love fast reads too so that’s always a plus point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

