Books

Musing Mondays (22nd June 2015)

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Is there a bookshop you absolutely adore? Or, perhaps one you’ve always wanted to visit? What is the name of it, and where is it located?

This week (my first week of taking part in Musing Mondays) I have decided to talk about what I have decided to read next. I’m currently reading three books but I’m already looking forward to starting my next books…

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz:Aristotle and Dante Discover cover

I have borrowed this book from my best friend instead of buying it. She bought it on a whim and I’m reading it on a whim. I have heard really good things about this book and a lot of people seem to have enjoyed it. I like reading young adult novels on occasion but they’re not my favourite genre of book (I’m more of a thriller/horror or classics person) as I often find them to be very similar in terms of themes, characters, and the plot. However, this book seems really interesting and different and I’m looking forward to reading a YA book which is about two Mexican-American boys and has LGBTQIA+ themes.

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo:Les Mis cover

This book is an epic that I have been wanting to read since I saw the musical on the West End back in 2011. I know it’s going to take me a long time to read but that doesn’t phase me at all. I’m really looking forward to getting to know the characters and understanding their motivations in a way that isn’t possible from just watching the musical. I know a lot of people who have read this book and some have read several different translations to see if anything changes. Even if it takes me six months to read (hopefully it won’t) it will be worth it because I have been wanting to read this book for such a long time. I aim to have it started by the 1st of July and finished by the 1st of October this year.


Now onto the random question: Is there a bookshop you absolutely adore? Or, perhaps one you’ve always wanted to visit? What is the name of it, and where is it located?

There is a lovely bookshop in Carlisle, United Kingdom, but I can’t remember the name of it at all. I found it on a visit to the Lake District with my family in 2013 and I bought a complete works of Alfred, Lord Tennyson from 1884, before Lord Tennyson died. They belonged to a Lady Victoria Welby and they’re absolutely gorgeous. The bookshop is full of little gems like the books I bought and they’re not that expensive either. The bookshop is just lovely and it smells of old books and I wish I could have spent hours in there instead of the short time that I did.

That’s it for this week. What are you reading next?

8 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (22nd June 2015)

  1. Ahh, Victor Hugo has long been on my to-read list. I suspect he might stay there until I retire, but we’ll see. I’m not entirely sure what I’ll read next – I’m currently reading a couple of light-hearted books by the likes of Jasper Fforde and Rachel Joyce, so I’m thinking maybe something more challenging next.
    I wonder what that bookshop is you mean – my dad used to live up in Carlisle and a lot of his family are still around there (sadly, as an adult I have only been back to England twice). I know a couple of years ago I visited a bookshop up north that I think was called Barter Books? It was in an old train station and had toy trains running along the tops of the bookshelves. That was definitely memorable for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read a few lighthearted books recently and I think I’m going to start reading challenging books, like Les Mis, alongside the lighthearted ones. Just for variety.

      I really wish I could remember the name of the bookshop. I should probably look it up or see if I still have the receipt for the books I bought. I wasn’t even going to go in it until my dad basically forced me inside because he thought that it looked interesting. It was just crammed with old books and it was great.

      Like

  2. I read Les Mis a couple of years ago after seeing the stage production and I enjoyed the book a great deal. Yes, it’s quite a thick book but it didn’t feel that long when I was reading it! I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The size of it doesn’t put me off at all. I just hope it doesn’t take me long to read it. I’m really looking forward to starting it though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

