Books

Musing Mondays – 29th June 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Last week, I came across someone’s idea to create waterproof books {see it here}. What do you think about this? Good idea, or bad?

The Shepherd's Crown coverThis week I’ve chosen to write about a book I’m really looking forward to reading which is Terry Pratchett’s. It isn’t due out until the 27th of August but I have already pre-ordered it and I’m super excited to read it.

The Shepherd’s Crown is the final book in the Tiffany Aching series which is Pratchett’s young adult/children’s series but it’s a really good read for adults too. Tiffany Aching is a young witch, only 9 in the first book, and the series revolves around her childhood as a witch-in-training. The Shepherd’s Crown is the fifth (5th) book following The Wee Free Men, Hat Full of Sky, Wintersmith, and I Shall Wear Midnight. I’m planning on reading the first three books in the series again to refresh my memory before I read the fourth.

I’m just very excited about this book and I can’t wait to read all about Tiffany’s adventures as a young witch when the book comes out later in the summer.


On to this week’s random question which is: Last week, I came across someone’s idea to create waterproof books {see it here}. What do you think about this? Good idea, or bad?

I think it’s a good idea because I’d be able to read in the bath. It’d probably add weight to the book so it wouldn’t be practical for those books but I would like to be able to read in the bath without the fear of ruining my books.

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – 29th June 2015

    1. Maybe read one of his standalone books like Dodger or Nation? I’m slowly getting through the Discworld books though and the Tiffany Aching books are part of the Discworld.

      Like

  1. Waterproof books is an amazing idea!!! And the Tiffany Aching series sounds interesting? Is it like a knock-off of Harry Potter though? Which, don’t hate me, but I have still yet to read the HP series!

    Like

    1. The Tiffany Aching books aren’t like Harry Potter at all. It’s not about waving a wand and doing spells, Tiffany is more in tune with nature and her own thoughts. She also makes cheese. I’d really recommend them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

