Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 7th July 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. It was difficult to narrow it down to just 10 books because there are a lot of hyped books that I haven’t read and have no interest in reading.

  1. Divergent (and its sequels) by Veronica Roth – Many of my friends have read this series and they urge me to read it too. I just don’t like the sound of it.
  2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – It just doesn’t seem like a book I’d like. I might give this one a go though.
  3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I had a tutor at university who adored this book and she recommended it to us every week but I haven’t read it.
  4. Paper Towns by John Green – I own this book. I will never read it. I should probably sell my copy along with my copies of his other books.
  5. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – I’ve just never been interested in reading this.
  6. Grey by E. L. James – I read Fifty Shades of Grey, skipped the second book, and read the last chapter of the third book. I don’t want to read the same book from a different point of view. Especially when it was so bad the first time.
  7. City of Bones (and its many sequels) by Cassandra Clare – I have problems with Cassandra Clare’s writing which means that I won’t go near these books.
  8. Us by David Nicholls – This book is being read by book clubs everywhere. It just seems like a really boring book.
  9. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I do want to read this one but I honestly don’t think I will.
  10. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – I’ve read the synopsis and read reviews but this doesn’t seem like my kind of book.

Divergent cover    The Girl on the Train cover    The Help cover    Paper Towns cover    The Da Vinci Code cover

Grey cover    City of Bones cover    Us cover    Throne of Glass cover    Eleanor and Park cover

Which hyped books have you never read?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 7th July 2015

  1. Don’t bother with The Da Vinci Code – such a let down! This is THE book which has made me wary of reading anything just because everyone else is reading it 🙂
    If you never read the Divergent series it won’t be a major shame. Hunger Games is much better!
    The Help is good, but I don’t think you’re missing out on a classic if you don’t get round to it.
    I wasn’t as impressed by One Day by David Nicholls as everyone else, which is why I haven’t read Us and – like you – I’m not sure I’ll bother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won’t bother with The Da Vinci Code then!

      Divergent seems so similar to The Hunger Games and while I like THG I don’t want to read another series that is similar to it.

      I haven’t read One Day but it’s another book that’s recommended to me often. I don’t think I’ll be reading that one either 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The books that I’ll never read are currently residing under my bed so they should probably go to a better home.

      I haven’t watch Gone Girl yet but I’ll probably watch The Girl on the Train instead of reading it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also have issues with Cassandra Clare and will not on principle read any of her works. John Green’s cryfests are not my thing. The Girl on a Train is something I plan on reading if for no other reason than to figure out what the hype was all about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to know I’m not the only one that has a problem with Cassandra Clare. And I agree about John Green. I read Looking for Alaska and hated it. I just found it boring.

      Like

  3. I urge you to give John Green and City of Bones another try! Hey, if you don’t like the first hundred pages, stop reading. 😉 I hope you do read Throne of Glass; even if you don’t like the first I promise the second and third books make the series twofold and tenfold better! 🙂 If you’d like to check out my TTT, try here. Happy reading!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read The Fault in our Stars and thought it was okay but then I read Looking for Alaska and I hated it. So I don’t think I’d enjoy Paper Towns or his other books. I really don’t like Cassandra Clare either so I know I won’t be reading her books. But Throne of Glass is definitely going on my TBR!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can get John Green, and I’ve heard that Cassandra Clare has written other books that weren’t very good (is this rumor or fact?), but I’m very glad you want to read ToG! Trust me, it’s SO GOOD!
        -Amy

        Like

Leave a Reply

