Books

3 Days 3 Quotes – Day 1

I got tagged by Annemieke (signourney) over at A Dance with Books to do the ‘3 Days 3 Quotes’ challenge. Thanks for tagging me!

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
  3. Nominate three new bloggers each day. Instead of nominating three people a day I’m going to nominate three people on day three of this challenge.


The Quote:

Perhaps one did not want to be loved so much as to be understood.

– p.264, 1984 by George Orwell

I thought I’d share my favourite quote from one of my favourite books for the first day.

It is a really short quote but it’s one of my favourite lines from 1984At this point Winston is in so much pain that he’s beginning to think about O’Brien and how O’Brien understands him. It makes no difference to Winston that O’Brien is torturing him because he understands Winston and that’s all that matters to Winston in this moment of pain.

1984 cover

Leave a Reply

