Books

3 Days 3 Quotes – Day 2

I got tagged by Annemieke (signourney) over at A Dance with Books to do the ‘3 Days 3 Quotes’ challenge. Thanks for tagging me!

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
  3. Nominate three new bloggers each day. Instead of nominating three people a day I’m going to nominate three people on day three of this challenge.

The Quote:

‘Yeah’, said Harry. ‘No more pretending we care what happens when Jupiter and Uranus get too friendly.’

‘And from now on, I don’t care if my tea leaves spell die, Ron, die – I’m just chucking them in the bin where they belong.’

– p.633, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenixby J. K. Rowling

Harry Potter 5I remember the first time I read this book and I almost cried with laughter at this quote. I think it sums up how every student feels after they’ve taken an exam in a subject they hate. I remember being free of geography after year 9 (I was 14) and this quote captures how I felt about that subject.

Also, this quote really highlights how funny Ron and Harry are. I think their humour is sometimes lost in the films but the books are full of little gems like this.


*I’ve linked to the amazon page for the edition that I own but it isn’t the most common edition out there.

Leave a Reply

