Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 4th August 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read.

Fairytale/Myth/Legend Retellings I’ve Read:

  1. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter (Based on Bluebeard) – I read this a few years ago, and again this year, and Carter does such a wonderful retelling of this folktale as she subverts the story and has the mother save her daughter from the murderous Bluebeard instead of her brother.
  2. Little Red-Cap by Carol Ann Duffy (Based on Little Red Riding Hood) – This is one of my favourite Duffy poems. It’s from her collection The World’s Wife which is full of poems that retell myths and events from the perspective of women.
  3. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine (Based on Cinderella) – I read this book a few years ago and really enjoyed it. I only bought it because I enjoyed the film adaptation.
  4. The Lady of Shalott by Alfred, Lord Tennyson (Based on Arthurian Legend) – This is another poem that I really love. Tennyson has some other poems based on Arthurian legends too, Galahad and Sir Lancelot and Queen Guinevere. This poem can be found in collections of Tennyson’s works.

Fairytale/Myth/Legend Retellings I Want to Read:

  1. The Child Thief by Gerald Brom (Based on Peter Pan) – This is a dark retelling of Peter Pan (the original is a dark story anyway) and I’ve been wanting to read it since I last read Peter and Wendy last year.
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (Based on Beauty and the Beast) – This one has been on my TBR for just a few months.
  3. The Once and Future King by T. H. White (Based on Arthurian Legend) – This book is a bit of a classic and though it might be a bit outdated I still want to read it.
  4. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (Based on Peter Pan)

The Bloody Chamber   The World's Wife   Ella Enchanted   Tennyson poems

The Child Thief   A Court of Thorns and Roses   The Once and Future King   Tiger Lily

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 4th August 2015

    1. Thank you! I’ve never been nominated for this award before so thank you very much 🙂 I’ll post it as soon as possible. I have two awards and a tag already on my to-do list so I’ll add this one too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

