Books

Musing Mondays

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you read in the water (bathtub, pool, etc)? Why, or why not?


I’m currently reading four books but I’m finding it difficult to find time to read any of them at the moment.

I had to put down G. R. R. Martin’s A Storm of Swords again because I’m just not interested in it at the moment. I might read the first two books of the A Song of Ice and Fire series again before I attempt to get back into this book. Therefore, I’m putting this book to the bottom of my TBR pile for now.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke is proving to be a slow read. I don’t think it’s anything to do with the book, it’s just that I’m never in the mood to read it. I know that I’m going to enjoy it but I just can’t bring myself to read it. If I can get half of it read before I go on holiday at the end of August I will be happy.

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan is a book that I need to finish by next week. It has taken me too long to read it so I’m going to force myself to sit down and read at least two chapters of it every day.

I’m also reading The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. It was a mistake to start this book before I’d finished the others but it was calling to me. I read another couple of chapters last night but it has taken me over a week to pick it up again after starting it. I need to finish this book soon (along with Aristotle and Dante) because I have borrowed it from a friend and I’m sure she’ll want it back the next time I see her.

So, this has basically just been a post about how I’m having trouble reading at the moment. I hope to get out of this reading slump soon but because I haven’t finished any books recently I’m postponing my reviews of The Return of Sherlock Holmes and The Mark of Athena until September because hopefully I’ll have finished some more books by then.

A Storm of Swords 1 cover   Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell cover   Throne of Fire cover   The Raven Boys cover


THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you read in the water (bathtub, pool, etc)? Why, or why not?

I don’t read near water. I’m very scared of dropping my books in the water so I avoid reading in the bath. I do read when I’m sat around the pool when I’m on holiday but I tend to choose a seat away from the water to avoid getting caught when people jump in the water and splash each other etc.

Leave a Reply

