Books

Harry Potter Moment of the Week

Harry Potter MOTW

Harry Potter Moment of the Week is a meme hosted by Uncorked Thoughts and Lunar Rainbows. The idea is to get Harry Potter fans together and discuss our favorite things about the series; be it a favorite moment, character, magical item, spell, quote or object from the books, films or J.K Rowling herself.

This week is: If you could change one thing in the first film, what would it be?

The Midnight Duel

Firstly, I would add in The Midnight Duel from the book. I love the fact that two 11-year-old boys, Harry and Draco, are so egotistical that they arrange a duel at midnight. I know that Draco doesn’t actually show up to the duel but it still would have been great to see them arrange it.

Secondly, I’d make sure Peeves was at least mentioned. I think I was most disappointed with the fact that Peeves never features in any of the films. I would definitely put him in the first film because he was such a fun part of the book. He tormented students and faculty alike and I really liked Peeves for some reason even though he wasn’t integral to the story line.


What would you change?

9 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

    1. Such a shame. A scene including Peeves would have been a nice bit of comic relief.

      The Midnight Duel always made me laugh for some reason. I think it’s the idea of Harry and Draco duelling it out with simple spells like wingardium leviosa πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. they actually shot some Peeves scenes for the first movie, but decided not to include him (probably due to time), I would like him to be there, but then I rather he’s not than having some of his great scenes not make it on the movies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know πŸ™‚ Rik Mayall was cast as Peeves too and he’d have been great. I just wish there was a mention of him. Something small like ‘Stay away from that damned poltergeist Peeves’. I don’t know πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. GREAT choices^^ The midnight duel was a good one, they were so young to be up to that much mischief. Of course, it was all a setup from Malfoy but it was fun to read about all the same πŸ™‚ Peeves would have been fun too, especially when he gets his moment to shine in OotP! And I mean, it,s not like it would have taken all that much time to just show him on screen a few times.

    Oh and Leah didn’t post her moment this week, but I cohost with her and I have the linky over on my post if you feel like linking up – just wanted to let you know πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Peeves would have been a good addition to any of them films. Especially OotP where nothing much seems to happen.

      Ah, I looked on her blog to link up. I’ll link up on yours then. Thanks for letting me know πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

