Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 25th August 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 (examples: YA fantasy 101, feminist literature 101, magic in YA 101, classic YA lit 101, world-building 101)

I chose Classics 101 because I love the classics.

  1. The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde – I love Oscar Wilde.
  2. Villette by Charlotte Brontë – I think this is a great alternative to studying Wuthering Heights because you’re still reading a Bronte novel but I think Villette is better.
  3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – You couldn’t each a class on classic books without talking about this book.
  4. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – I’d have to teach a Dicken’s book and this is one of my favourites.
  5. The Time Machine by H. G. Wells – I prefer this book to The War of the Worlds but both would be great books to teach.
  6. The Trial by Franz Kafka – I like Kafka and most courses include The Metamorphosis so I’d use The Trial instead.
  7. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – This book is a classic and while I’m not a fan of it I would teach it.
  8. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – I’d have to include this controversial book.
  9. 1984 by George Orwell – This is more of a modern classic but it’s one of my favourites.
  10. Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare – I can’t make a list about classics without talking about Shakespeare. I think Twelfth Night is such a great play and it was the first Shakespeare play I ever read.

The Picture of Dorian Gray   Villette   Frankenstein cover   A Christmas Carol   The Time Machine cover

The Trial   The Great Gatsby   Lolita   1984 cover   Twelfth Night

What class would you choose to teach?


Note: This post was scheduled. I am currently on hiatus until the 1st of September 2015.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 25th August 2015

Leave a Reply

