Tags

The Reading Habits Tag

Reading Habits Tag

I was tagged by the lovey Charley to complete this tag. I’m so sorry it’s taken so long!

Okay, let’s get on with the tag.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I read on the sofa if there’s no one else at home. Or I read in bed. I just try to find the quietest place in the house otherwise I get distracted by conversations and the TV.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I’ve just started using proper bookmarks. I picked up 3 from the Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli (Naples National Archaeological Museum) for just 3 euros which is so much cheaper than what they charge in British museums. I do want to buy more bookmarks.

Bookmarks I bought from Naples

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages? 

I almost always finish the chapter. It’s much neater to put a book down at the end of the chapter and if I don’t finish the chapter then I normally end up reading the whole chapter again the next time I pick up the book.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I often forget to eat and drink because I’m reading. If I’m reading on the train and I need to eat lunch then I do eat and read at the same time.

Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?

Nope. I like to focus completely on the book I’m reading. I don’t like distractions.

One book at a time or several at once?

Several. I normally drift between books until one captures my attention and then I finish that book before going back to the others.

Read at home or everywhere?

Everywhere! At home, at university, on the train. Anywhere except in the car. That makes me feel ill. Oh, and in the bath because I’m terrified of dropping the book in the water.

Read aloud or silently in your head?

I prefer to read in my head. The only things I read out loud are my essays.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

Nope.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I prefer to keep it new. There are some versions of books that are broken and tatty because I’ve read them that much but I normally have a second copy of the book too which is like new. For example: I have two copies of Dracula. I needed the second copy for university because I had to have a specific version. Therefore, my old Penguin copy has a broken spine and bent pages but my newer, Norton copy is perfect.

Do you write in books?

Nope. I hate it so much. I use post-it notes instead. Mainly because then I can see where the notes are in the book and I can pull them out and throw them away whenever I want to.


What are your reading habits?

I’m tagging:

If you’ve done this tag, or don’t want to take part, then please ignore this.

Thanks again to Charley for tagging me! Go check out her wonderful blog.

One thought on “The Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

