Awards

The Keep it Fresh Award

Keep it Fresh

I’ve been nominated for the Keep It Fresh Award by Sarah and Faith over at Sublime Reads. They created the award and I’m grateful that they included me in the first set of nominations. Thanks girls!

Rules:
  • Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  • Part A: Answer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  • Part B: Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  • Part C: Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  • Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  • Notify your nominees of the nomination (nom nom nom ~ :D)
  • The most important rules? HAVE FUN and of course, KEEP IT FRESH! 🙂

Part A: Fruit Questions

Strawberries: Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)

Coconut: What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)

  • I don’t have typical ‘beach reads’. But I read Lee Child’s Killing Floor while I was on holiday this year. Not the most relaxing book in the world but I found that the peace and quiet of the beach really helped me get into this book.

Pineapple: What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?

  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I really thought that I was going to hate this book by the summary but I didn’t. I actually really enjoyed it.

Orange: What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)

Watermelon: A watery book (e.g. There wasn’t tons of substance to the book/the details were just too watery…etc. Don’t get us wrong though, we love watermelons!)

Dragonfruit: What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)

Lemons: Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)

  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte left me feeling sour. Mainly because I dislike all of the characters.

Tomato: What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)

Apple: Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)

  • I thought that The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen was a typical YA romance novel. I liked it but it wasn’t amazing.

Blueberries: Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)

Grapefruit: Any bitter books? (e.g. a book that was blue but MORE… do you have any bitter resentments towards characters from a book? Any sour turned bitter emotions? Any uber hateful villains?)

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I’m bitter towards Amy’s character and I’m also bitter towards the ending. WHAT HAPPENS GILLIAN?

Jackfruit: Name the most physically heavy book that you’ve ever read. (Because jackfruits are pretty heavy fruits!)

  • I have a fair few heavy books sitting on my bookshelves thanks to university. The heaviest book I own (that is not one of my three 1860 Shakespeare books) is probably Hans Christian Andersen’s Complete Fairy Tales. It’s huge.

Limes: Name a funny book that you’ve read because limes add flavour and so does humour with every book.

  • Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaimen is the funniest book I’ve read this year (so far).

Part B: Favourite Fruit

Choose your favourite fruit and then choose a book that would correspond the best and if your fruit is already taken on our list, make up your own question and answer it.

Grapes are my favourite fruit and since you eat a bunch of grapes my question is going to be: Favourtie book series?


Part C: Fruit Smoothies

Finally, choose a book that was a mix of some of these fruits to make your own smoothie. (e.g. A strawberry blueberry lemon smoothie would correlate to a sweet and sad but sour book.)

An orangedragonfruit, lime (juicy, unique, and funny) book would be The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m really into this book at the moment.


I’m nominating:

This was an interesting and fun award! Please feel free to ignore this if you don’t want to take part.

Thank you again to Sarah and Faith for creating this award and nominating me!

11 thoughts on “The Keep it Fresh Award

  1. Thank you for nominating me! And it’s lovely to see someone mention Tristram Shandy which is both unique and a milestone in the development of the novel 🙂
    I can’t say when I’ll get to this post (I have a shamefully large backlog of posts to do), but I’ll let you know when I get there 🙂 Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay. Just post it whenever you get the chance.

      Tristram Shandy is such an interesting book! Very strange for a modern reader though because we don’t have the context of the time and we don’t have the anticipation of waiting for a new volume to come out. I wasn’t fond of it when I was reading it but I blame that on the fact that I had to read it for university. Hopefully the next time I pick it up I’ll be able to fully appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

