Tags

The Summer Reader Book Tag

DON'T QUIT

I have been tagged in the Summer Reader Book Tag, which was created by Booktuber Island of Books, by Analee @ Book Snacks. You should all go check out her fantastic blog if you’re not already following her.

Technically, it’s still summer until the 21st of September so I can still post this without it being the wrong season.

On to the questions…

Lemonade: pick a book that started off bitter but got better.

Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell. This book really grew on me after a really slow start. The ending did frustrate me but I know that Gaskell really had no other choice with the ending due to the era when she wrote it.

 Mary Barton

Golden Sun: pick a book that made you smile beyond compare.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling still makes me smile every time I read it. The book holds so much nostalgia for me (and most other people of my generation) and it’s such a wonderful book.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Tropical Flowers: pick a book set in a foreign country.

I had a lot of books to choose from for this question because I live in the UK and most books are set in the USA. Although, I am reading more and more books set in the UK and Europe which is nice.

I’ve chosen One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey because I love it. The novel is clearly a product of the counterculture of 1960s America and it’s such an interesting social critique of the USA. This book is really fascinating and it’s one of those books that can only be set in the place that it is set in. It wouldn’t work if this book was set anywhere other than the USA.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Tree Shade: pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced.

I’m going to chose A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin because that book introduces some of the shadiest characters I have ever read about. Including Littlefinger who really creeps me out.

A Game of Thrones

Beach Sand: pick a book that was grainy, and the plot barely developed.

The Eclipse of the Century by Jan Mark. It’s a strange book that I never really got into. I’ll probably read it again one day but I didn’t find it interesting the first time I read it.

The Eclipse of the Century

Green Grass: pick a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile.

All of the characters in Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan are full of life. Both of the Percy Jackson series’ are full of well-rounded characters with individual voices.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Watermelon: pick a book that had some juicy secrets.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. This book was full of secrets. Almost every character mentioned had at least one major secret that they were trying to hide and it was incredibly satisfying when those secrets were revealed to the other characters.

gone girl cover

Sun Hat: pick a book that had a vast, big universe/setting.

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. It’s such a huge setting and it only gets bigger with The Lord of the Rings. 

The Hobbit

BBQ: pick a book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. Wes was definitely portrayed as a bad-boy hunk with a soft artistic side.

the truth about forever cover


I’m not going to pass the tag on because is my sixth tag this week. I really should have spaced them out more. Oops.

However, if you haven’t done this tag yet and would like to take part then take this as your opportunity because I am tagging you.

Thank you again to Analee for tagging me (and I’m sorry this is so late).

One thought on “The Summer Reader Book Tag

Leave a Reply

