Books

Book Review – The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

The Mark of Athena cover

Title: The Mark of Athena
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy
Date: 2012
Publisher: Puffin
Pages: 608
Started: 13th June 2015
Completed: 30th June 2015
Rating: 4/5
Summary: “One Fatal Prophecy Seven Brave Demigods A Quest To Find – And Close – The Doors Of Death. Annabeth felt as if someone had draped a cold wash cloth across her neck. She heard that whispering laughter again, as if the presence had followed her from the ship. She looked up at the Argo II. Its massive bronze hull glittered in the sunlight. Part of her wanted to kidnap Percy right now, get on board and get out of here while they still could. She couldn’t shake the feeling that something was about to go terribly wrong. She couldn’t risk losing Percy again.” – from Amazon.

The Mark of Athena is the third book in Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series. This series follows on from his Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.


I have always admired Riordan’s ability to showcase his characters by having them narrate their own chapters. I really enjoyed reading more of Annabeth’s point of view in The Mark of Athena and I love that this book is centered around her and the task that Athena has given her. A lot of the previous series’ have been focused around Percy and other characters but I love Annabeth as a character and I was happy to read a lot of chapters about her. As well as enjoying Annabeth’s chapters I also liked Leo’s chapters a lot.

I also enjoyed the progression this book made in the story line as the reader finally sees the heroes all together and the prophesy quest begins. I did enjoy the separate books about Jason and Percy being left at each other’s camps but it felt like the plot was really moving in this book and the final chapter seems to set the next book up nicely.

There was very little that I disliked about this book but there were some things, hence the 4/5 rating. I didn’t like the portrayal of Reyna in this book, I liked her more in The Son of Neptune, and I think that Octavian could have been explored more. I’m hoping that he’s shown more in The House of Hades but I know it’s unlikely.


Overall, I loved this book. I took me a few weeks to read because I like to savour Riordan’s books and read a few chapters at a time (except when I read The Lost Hero in a day). I’m really looking forward to reading The House of Hades when I get time to. I’m hoping that I get to read some chapters from Nico’s point of view in that one.

I would definitely recommend The Mark of Athena to people who enjoy YA fanatsy novels, people who have read (and enjoyed) Rick Riordan novels, or to people interested in mythology as The Mark of Athena is one of the best books I’ve read this year. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

If you are considering reading The Mark of Athena but you haven’t read anything else by Rick Riordan then please start right at the beginning with Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. It’s the only way the books in this series will make sense.


Any thoughts on the review or the book? Please leave some comments.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

