Books

Harry Potter Moment of the Week – 1st October 2015

Harry Potter MOTWHarry Potter Moment of the Week is a meme hosted by Uncorked Thoughts and Lunar Rainbows. The idea is to get Harry Potter fans together and discuss our favorite things about the series; be it a favorite moment, character, magical item, spell, quote or object from the books, films or J.K Rowling herself.

This week is: Favourite quote from Philosopher’s Stone?


My favourite quote is probably ‘I’m Hermione Granger, and you are?’. I just think it’s a great line. I love Hermione in the first book and I think her introduction is great.

Some of my other favourites are:

  • ‘I can teach you how to bottle fame, brew glory, even put a stopper on death…’
  • ‘Alas! Earwax!’
  • ‘I believe your friends Misters Fred and George Weasley were responsible for trying to send you a toilet seat. No doubt they thought it would amuse you.’
  • ‘Oh, honestly, don’t you two read?’
  • ‘Sunshine, daisies, butter mellow, turn this stupid, fat rat yellow.’
  • ‘Longbottom, if brains were gold, you’d be poorer than Weasley, and that’s saying something.’ (I love a good Draco line.)

What are your favourite quotes from the first Harry Potter book?

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week – 1st October 2015

  1. I still say that ‘Sunshine, daisies, butter mellow’ spell at random moments LOL That’s a great pick. You also went with a follow up to one of the first quotes that I put up about the toilet seat. I love how that one becomes a running gag. Great choices!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL! That spell of Ron’s has the Weasley Twins written all over it 😀 And I do love how Hermione introduces herself too, I liked her straight away – who wouldn’t?! Your picks are making me want to reread Philosopher’s Stone even more now XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the twins probably taught him that. It would have been better if it had worked though because that would have made the third book very funny! 🙂

      I want to read them all again. I just don’t have time 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

