Books · General · Personal

The Sunday Post #1

The Sunday Post

I’ve decided to start doing The Sunday Post which is hosted over at Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. I don’t often post on Sundays because I forget but hopefully doing this meme will help me to post regularly on Sundays.

The Sunday Post is a chance for me to recap the week I’ve had on my blog and in my personal life, meaning that you’ll probably be finding out more about me than you ever wanted to know. I’m going to split this post into a few different sections: personal, books I’ve read, a recap of this week’s posts, and next week’s to-do list . These sections will probably change over the coming weeks because it’d be nice to write about something different every week.

See the rules here.

Okay, let’s get on to the post…


Personal:

I did some gardening in the early part of the week and I finally re-potted my Christmas cactus which had outgrown it’s pot. It’s looking much healthier now that it has some room to grown and hopefully it’ll still flower over Christmas if I start feeding it soon.

I also started my Masters degree this week. I’m studying Early Modern English Literature which is really cool and I love that period of literature. I’m the only person taking two of my modules so the meetings with the tutors this week were slightly awkward but they were both really nice and they actually treated me like an equal! I’m looking forward to reading the revenge tragedies that have been set for my directed reading module because it’s my area of interest.

Funny/embarrassing story time: I was stood up on the tram to university when it had to break hard to avoid a child running in the street. Unfortunately, I lost my balance and landed on a young guy (about my age) who was sat down. He got a face full of my chest while I used his thigh to steady myself. Not my finest hour but he didn’t look too bothered by the event.

Yesterday (Saturday) I painted the garden shed with my dad. It was fun.

Other than that, nothing much happened this week.


Books I’ve read:

Two of the books I’ve read this week have been academic so I won’t be reviewing them. I might review the play I’ve read but I’m not sure yet.

The Spanish Tragedy   Cambridge companion to English Renaissance Tragedy   Early Modern English Drama


Post Recap:


To-do list:

  • Read Titus Andronicus by William Shakespeare
  • Read The Jew of Malta by Christopher Marlowe
  • Complete Die Trying by Lee Child
  • Read all theoretical/critical articles and books set for university
  • Post a book review

That’s it for my first Sunday Post. I enjoyed doing this little round up.

12 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #1

  1. I like doing the Sunday Post, and share more about me personally than I would do in other post.

    Repotting plants is one of those things I tend to forget. I hope your cactus will flower around Christmas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s nice to share some personal stories for once 🙂

      I’ve been meaning to repot it since early August but better late than never I guess 🙂 It’s so pretty when it flowers and it’s nice to have such a colourful plant in the house over winter.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been meaning to do the Sunday Post for a while but I always forgot.

      My Christmas cactus is the only plant I haven’t killed. I’ve had it since it was just a little cutting though and it’s now 8 years old 🙂

      I hope I never have another tram experience like that again. It was mortifying.

      Like

    1. Oh wow! I couldn’t imagine doing my Masters and working and raising a family. That’s amazing! I quit my job so I could focus on it but I’ve come straight out of undergrad so I wasn’t working a lot anyway.

      The tram scene is funny to look back on but it was horrible to live through. That poor man that I landed on!

      Like

  2. Hope this semester goes well. And you didn’t mention anything about the guy you fell on. Was he cute by any chance? It sounds like the sort of thing that would happen in a book or movie and I can imagine an elderly couple relaying the story many years later…. “We met when she fell onto me, thrusting her chest in my face…” kinda thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly can’t remember what he looked like! I just know he was about my age and he just smiled at me when I apologised. I was too busy trying to get off the tram and away from the embarrassing situation. If only my life was like a movie…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

