Books

Musing Mondays – 5th October 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you make a seasonal reading list? How do you choose what goes on it?


I want to talk about preordering books.

This week I’m waiting for my preordered signed copy of Rick Riordan’s new book Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer to be delivered. It’s due out tomorrow (6th October) but I don’t know if I’ll receive it on time. I probably won’t because the British postal system is terrible. Even if I do get it on time though I won’t be reading it right away. I’m determined to finish my other Rick Riordan books before I start this series and that could take some time. The second book in the series will probably be out by then. So, I need to read two books from the Heroes of Olympus series, The House of Hades and The Blood of Olympusand one book from the Kane Chronicles, The Serpent’s Shadow, before I start this new series.

I both love and hate preordering books. I love knowing that I’m going to receive the book soon after it’s released but I hate waiting for so long. Today I preordered the final book in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle series, The Raven Kingfrom Amazon. I preordered from Amazon instead of Waterstones because Amazon had the hardback version and it was on offer. However, I’ve preordered this book in early October and it doesn’t get released until March (probably). It doesn’t even have a cover yet! I’m going to be waiting such a long time for this book but at least I’ll have completed the previous books by then since I only have Blue Lily, Lily Blue left to read.


THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you make a seasonal reading list? How do you choose what goes on it?

I’ve seen a lot of posts entitled ‘October TBR’ or ‘Fall/Autumn TBR’ which are full of horror books to celebrate Halloween but I haven’t made a specific autumn reading list like these. However, I do know what I want to read in the next couple of months. They’re just books that were already on my TBR that I want to read next.

So, I decided that in October I wanted to read:

I’ve decided to keep the list short because I have so much to read for university.

The Dream Thieves Blue Lily, Lily Blue The Girl in the Spider's Web The Rest of Us Just Live Here Die Trying Aristotle and Dante Discover cover


Have you made an autumn reading list? If so, what’s on it?

One thought on “Musing Mondays – 5th October 2015

Leave a Reply

