Books · General · Personal

The Sunday Post #4

The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This post is an opportunity to recap the past week on my blog and in my personal life. It’s also a chance to set up some goals for the upcoming week and talk about anything else that I want to talk about.

See the rules here.


Personal:

This week was a long week and I’ve had a constant headache since Monday. I also think I’m coming down with a common cold which isn’t bad, it’s just annoying.

Chaucer 1 Chaucer 2

I spent the first three days of the last week translating Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales for university.

I should have gone to see Crimson Peak at the cinema on Tuesday but my friend cancelled so I didn’t get to go. I’m considering seeing it by myself next week. Is that a bit sad?

I also went clothes shopping twice over the weekend (on Friday and today) but it was mainly to buy my dad some shoes for him to wear at my graduation ceremony. I did buy myself a dress in the sale at Fat Face though. I’d wanted it for a while and I had to buy it when I saw that it had been
reduced to half of the original price.


Books I’ve read:

  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Othello by William Shakespeare
  • A Woman Killed with Kindness by Thomas Heywood
  • The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Chaucer’s Sexual Politics by Carolyn Dinshaw

Last week’s to-do list:

  • Read Othello by William Shakespeare
  • Read The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Read A Woman Killed with Kindness by Thomas Heywood
  • Read all theoretical/critical essays and books set for university
  • Complete Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Complete Die Trying by Lee Child
  • Post a book review of The Maze Runner by James Dashner (FINALLY)
  • See Crimson Peak at the cinema

Next week’s to-do list:

  • Read The Shepheardes Calender by Edmund Spenser
  • Read all theoretical/critical essays and books set for university
  • Complete Die Trying by Lee Child
  • Do an essay plan for my first assignment of the academic year
  • Post a book review of Killing Floor by Lee Child

I’m glad that I don’t have as much reading to do for uni next week but I do have an essay to start so that’ll take up a lot of my time.

Any thoughts on going to the cinema by yourself?

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #4

    1. It’s just a shame when all of your friends hate horror movies and you love them. I might just wait until the DVD comes out instead of going to the cinema by myself.

      I was so happy when I saw it on sale and I was shocked that it was there in my size. Because my size is normally the first to sell out. I’m a very happy girl 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah. I am the type of person to avoid horror movies like the plague. Unless you don’t mind 2 hours of sobbing and clutching and wimp-ery 😀
        Yes, I know exactly what you mean. Size 7 shoes in Canada are like the only size anyone seems to buy. If I manage to find cute shoes that size, I’m over the moon for that whole shopping trip. 🙂

        Like

  1. I saw Crimson Peak! It wasn’t nearly as good as I thought it would be. I think it’s portrayed as a lot different than it actually is. Not that I’m telling you not to go! My expectations were just really high so I was disappointed. I hope you love it though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I lived and worked in London I had one of those unlimited cinema cards and used to go to the cinema all the time on my own. I loved it. You don’t have to share your sweets with anyone, you can cry and make embarrassing faces and no-one laughs at you. Plus, it’s always easy to get a seat.
    I’d love to see Crimson Peak, not only because I like Guillermo del Toro’s films, but because I love Tom Hiddleston 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A Maze Runner review, I need to check that out. I didn’t really have that on my radar screen until I saw the movie trailer, then I got curious, Haven’t seen the movie yet… it has me curious though.

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

