Books · General

Musing Mondays – 26th October 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you read any horror, or something scary, in honor of Halloween? Why, or why not?


Once again, I’m only going to answer this week’s random question because I’m busy and I don’t have much time to write a long post.

Do you read any horror, or something scary, in honor of Halloween? Why, or why not?

Yes, I’m planning on reading a horror novel on the 31st of October in celebration of Halloween. I haven’t chosen which book yet so suggestions would be great!

I’m planning to do this because I don’t celebrate Halloween in any other way. I don’t really like it as a holiday and I much prefer Bonfire Night on the 5th of November. I imagine that Bonfire Night is only celebrated in Britain though because it’s when we celebrate the fact that Guy Fawkes and his co-conspirators got caught trying to blow up the House of Parliament. It’s quite a creepy holiday when you think about it because 400+ years later we still burn effigies of Guy Fawkes on our bonfires. A lot of people think we’re celebrating Guy Fawkes’ attempt at anarchism. But it wasn’t anarchism because he just wanted a Catholic King on the throne instead of a Protestant one and we’re actually celebrating his failure. I don’t know why I’m explaining this on here when I should actually be explaining it on tumblr. Where people think we’re celebrating the V for Vendetta film. Don’t ask.

Anyway. Back to Halloween.

I don’t go to parties and get dressed up because I don’t enjoy Halloween. I’m just using the date as an excuse to read a horror book. Oh, and watch the Halloween special of Strictly Come Dancing which is always fun.


Do you plan on reading a horror novel on Halloween? If so, which one? I could really use some suggestions.

Please ignore my rant about Bonfire Night. It just annoys me when people think that the poem ‘Remember, remember the 5th of November…’ comes from V for Vendetta.

10 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – 26th October 2015

    1. We don’t get them either. Mainly because no one wants to walk up the three steep hills to get to my village.

      I watched American football for the first time this weekend. I was very confused about everything and I just kept comparing it to rugby. Oops 🙂

      Like

  1. I actually never knew the background behind bonfire night. I should have really, being Irish. We are not a million miles apart or anything, also the religious aspect would be very relevant to us too.

    I think it’s good that you could bring a bit of history into your post. It is what you study after all?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I learnt about it at school. When I was very young. Probably in early primary school. I don’t think it was part of the curriculum though.

      I study English Literature but History is a very closely related subject and it’s something which I love learning about 🙂 The Jacobean era (when the gunpowder plot happened) is one of the periods of literature than I’m interested in though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am very lucky to be on a course that I love. I have absolutely no idea where it will take me though. Hopefully I’ll go on to do a PhD and then get a job in research and academia. But I’ll just be happy if I can get a job related to my research interests whether that’s in a university, a theatre company, a museum, or a library 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

