Books · Tags

The Book Courtship Tag

I was tagged to do The Book Courtship Tag by Erika ages ago. Thank you for tagging me and I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to do this!


Paradise LostPhase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

I bought this beautiful version of Paradise Lost by John Milton because of the cover. I had already read the poem but I needed this version.

This cloth-bound hardback copy looks much better in person. I can’t believe how awful the photo looks compared to the actual book. You’ll have to trust me when I say how lovely it is.

This copy was fairly expensive (I paid £17 a few years ago) but the price seems to have reduced a little since then. I plan on buying more of Penguin’s cloth-bound books because they really are very pretty.


Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

Darkly Dreaming DexterI bought Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay because the summary really intrigued me. Here’s the summary:

Dexter Morgan appears to be the perfect gentleman. He leads a normal, quiet life working as a forensic officer for the Miami Police He has a nice, shy girlfriend and is liked by her young children. But Dexter has a secret hobby. He’s an accomplished serial killer.

So far he’s killed dozens of people and has never been caught, because he knows exactly how to dispose of the evidence. And there are those who would rather he wasn’t caught at all, because Dexter is a serial killer with a difference. He only kills the city’s bad guys.

Then Dexter’s well-organised life is thrown into chaos. Another serial killer is invading his territory – and he wants Dexter to come out and play…


A Study in ScarletPhase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

I’m going to choose A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle.

Many of you will know that I’m a fan of the Sherlock Holmes novels (and I’m a fan of the Robert Downey Jr films along with Elementary) and this book is one of the best Sherlock Holmes novels in my opinion.

I love ACD’s writing style and I get lost in the plot every time I read this novel. Honestly, I could have chosen any of the Sherlock Holmes novels or short stories because they’re all wonderfully written but A Study in Scarlet is such a wonderful introduction to the super-sleuth and that’s why I chose it.


Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series

Percy Jackson and the Lightning ThiefPercy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.

Story time! I remember buying this book and reading it quite vividly. I was in Manchester airport waiting for a flight to Majorca in 2008. My flight had just been delayed by five hours because France had close their air-space due to a strike. That isn’t unusual and many of my flights to mainland Europe have been delayed because of the French.

Anyway, I was bored so I was wandering around WHSmiths (I almost cried when I saw how expensive the sweets were) but they had an offer on books, buy on get one half price, so I bought this book and my mum bought one too (I can’t remember which book) and I read it so quickly that I wanted to read the next book immediately. Unfortunately, WHSmiths didn’t have Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters so I had to wait until I’d come back from my 10 day holiday to buy it. Story time over!


The Girl with the Dragon TattooPhase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

For this question I’m going to choose The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I think this was the first book that I ever stayed up to read because I was just so engrossed in it.

I was about 15 when I first read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and I couldn’t stop reading this book once I had started so I read it through the night. It was, and still is, one of my favourite books. I also read the rest of the trilogy straight after because I just couldn’t put the series down.

The Millennium series is one of my favourite series’ of all time and I can’t wait to read the newest installment, even though it is by a different author.


The Raven Boys coverPhase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

Once I’d read The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I couldn’t stop talking about it to my friends either. I’m lucky that all of my friends have read it and they all loved it as much as I did.

I loved the plot, the characters, and the author’s writing style. I don’t own this book yet because I borrowed it from a friend but I’m planning on buying it, along with the two sequels, as soon as I have some money spare.

There aren’t enough words to describe my love for The Raven Boys but I will try to put it into words when I review it next week.


The Iliad and the OdysseyPhase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

This is a weird question.

Maybe my copy of The Iliad and the Odyssey by Homer.

It’s leather (apparently) and it has beautiful gold detailing and the edges of the pages are gilded in gold colouring too. It’s a gorgeous book which has a lovely quality about it.

I’ve linked to the Waterstones page because that’s where I bought it from but it doesn’t look like it’s available any more. It is available from Barnes and Nobel though but we don’t have those in the UK.



Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

The Maze Runner coverThe Devil Wears PradaThis one is a difficult question.

I’d recommend The Maze Runner by James Dashner to my friends because I loved it. Dystopian YA novels are very popular and this book is a great example of that genre.

I’d recommend The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger to my mum. She loves this type of book. My dad doesn’t read fiction so I don’t think I could recommend anything to him.


1984 coverHarry Potter and the Philosopher's StonePhase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

I read 1984 by George Orwell almost once a year because I love it. Every time I read it I find something new hidden in the novel.

I’m also planning on reading the Harry Potter series again soon. When I have the time. I’ve been meaning to re-read this series for years but I’ve never gotten around to it so I’m planning on reading all 7 books in December, during my break from university.


Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

I’m not actually going to tag anyone because I have no idea who has already done this. But if you haven’t done this tag and you want to then please take this opportunity to do it and send me a link so that I can read your answers!

6 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. What great answers. Have read so many of the ones you mention. I’ve been meaning to reread the Harry Potter series again, especially as I’ve been to the Studios in Watford. The Raven Boys sounds intriguing.

    Like

      1. I’m sure I would! I’m hoping to go next sometime next year but I don’t know if it’ll be possible. I’ll just have to wait and see 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

