Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 27th October 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Halloween themed freebie — your choice (ie. 10 best ghost stories, 10 things that scare you in books, 10 literary Halloween costumes, 10 vampire novels, 10 books that WILL scare you, 10 non-scary books for Halloween, 10 scariest covers, etc.)

I’ve decided to go with: 10 creepiest book covers.

  1. The Woman in Black by Susan Hill – I don’t own this book
  2. Dracula by Bram Stoker – Despite owning three versions of this book I don’t have the cover I’ve featured.
  3. Complete Tales and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe – I don’t own this book
  4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – I don’t own this either
  5. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James – I own this book but not the version I’ve featured.
  6. The Shining by Stephen King – Another book I don’t own.
  7. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff – Don’t own.
  8. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson – I own this book and it has this cover!
  9. I am Legend by Richard Matheson – I own the book but not this version
  10. Carrie by Stephen King – I don’t own the book.

The Woman in Black Dracula Poe MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN The Turn of the Screw

The Shining The Replacemnt Jekyll and Hyde I am Legend Carrie

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 27th October 2015

    1. Owning copy of The Shining that is possessed is not good! Maybe you should lock it in a box somewhere so that it can’t get to you.

      I’ve not read The Replacement but the cover is so unsettling for the reason you said!

      Like

    1. The Replacement is so creepy! And I wish I had the version of I am Legend that I’ve featured in my list instead of the cover I have (which is the movie cover). Happy Halloween! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Poe himself was a creepy man so it just makes sense for his poetry and stories to be creepy.

      I love the penguin classics covers for horror novels. They’re just so creepy and they fit perfectly with the stories 🙂

      Like

  1. The Replacement is one of the creepiest covers I’ve ever seen. It’s why I bought the book. However I couldn’t finish the book. I just didn’t feel a connection to the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NICE topic^^ Except for the Poe collection I have yet to read any of these! I definitely want to read The Woman in Black, The Replacement, Dracula and Miss Peregrine. These covers are all perfectly creepy though 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read some of Poe’s stuff but not the whole collection of his works. Dracula is so good but the start of it is very long. I’m thinking of reading The Woman in Black on Halloween night 🙂

      Like

      1. I bought one for myself ages ago, then my grandparents bought me a cloth-bound copy for Christmas about four years ago, and then I had to buy an academic version for university 🙂

        Like

      2. Ooh, so many. They’re all a bit strange out of context though. There’s:

        “There are darknesses in life and there are lights, and you are one of the lights, the light of all lights.”

        and

        “I am longing to be with you, and by the sea, where we can talk together freely and build our castles in the air.”

        and

        “Loneliness will sit over our roofs with brooding wings.”

        They’re the three that I can find at the moment 🙂

        Like

      3. I’d just check those quotes because I’m not sure they’re accurate. I know that the first one is actually:

        ‘There are darknesses in life, and there are lights; and you are one of the lights.’

        I’ll check the others too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

