Books · General · Personal

October 2015 Recap

month recap

It’s the 31st of October which means that it’s time for my October Recap!

Warning: This is going to be a very long post.


Personal:

My personal life was very boring in October. All I did was go to university twice a week and do university work for the rest of the week.

However, I did buy Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate and go clothes shopping a few times but only with my mum.

Hopefully I’ll be more social in November since I’m graduating from my first university and I have a celebration evening at my current university.


Books I’ve bought:


Books I’ve read:

The Spanish TragedyThe Spanish Tragedy by Thomas Kyd

This was the first book I read for my new degree. I’ve just finished studying Renaissance revenge tragedies for one of my modules and this play is a fantastic introduction to the genre. The plot is complicated and the characters are over the top but it’s a wonderful play that clearly inspired many later revenge tragedies, including Shakespeare’s Hamlet.

I’m not reviewing this book because I don’t like reviewing plays unless I’m reviewing an actual performance.

Doctor Faustus and Other PlaysThe Jew of Malta by Christopher Marlowe

The Jew of Malta is another revenge tragedy that I studied for university. It’s a very different play to The Spanish Tragedy because the ‘revenge’ is all about money instead of avenging the death of a loved one. Religion is a key part of this play but it’s not just Judaism which is presented in a bad light, although it is often called an anti-Semitic play (it does have many anti-Semitic stereotypes in it), all religions are equally mocked. This could be because Marlowe was, apparently, an atheist but we’ll never know.

Again, I won’t be reviewing this play.

Titus AndronicusTitus Andronicus by William Shakespeare

This is one of my favourite plays. Ever. It’s a gory mess and I love it. My favourite scene is when Titus bakes Chiron and Demetrius into pies and feeds them to Tamora, their mother, at a banquet.

No review for this play either.

Othello (Oxford)

Othello by William Shakespeare

Othello is such an amazing play. It’s also a horrifying play. I almost cried when I read the scene where Othello smothers his wife, Desdemona, in their bedroom. It’s so sad when you know that she hasn’t been unfaithful but you have to watch Othello kill her.

Iago is one of my favourite Shakespearean villains though. He’s so clever and manipulative. He’s a good example of a Machiavellian character too.

The Dream ThievesThe Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater is one of my new favourite authors and I loved the sequel to The Raven Boys so much. I really loved the progression of the plot and the change in the characters. I’ll not say too much about how much I love it at the moment though.

I’ll be reviewing The Dream Thieves along with The Raven Boys and Blue Lily, Lily Blue next week.

Blue Lily, Lily BlueBlue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

I adored the third book in The Raven Cycle just as much as I loved the first too. I’m really excited about The Raven King coming out in 2016 but Amazon keeps giving me different dates for its release. On the age where you buy the book it says it’s due out on the 29th of March but my dispatch date isn’t until the 20th of April!

I will be reviewing this book next week! Hopefully.

The Riverside Chaucer by Geoffrey Chaucer

The Riverside ChaucerI mainly read this book for The Canterbury Tales because it has the best editorial notes but I also read a few of the other tales too. Troilus and Criseyde was perhaps my favourite poem in this collection but I really enjoy The Canterbury Tales, even if I had to translate it for one of my university classes. People don’t seem read Chaucer that much any more because the language is difficult but I’d suggest buying a new translation because while you won’t necessarily get the same rhyme scheme etc. you will still enjoy the humour of the poems.

A Woman Killed with KindnessA Woman Killed with Kindness by Thomas Heywood

This was another of the revenge tragedies that I had to read for university but it’s a revenge tragedy with a twist. It’s classed as a ‘domestic tragedy’ and it is often read alongside Arden of Faversham and A Yorkshire Tragedy. I studied this play at the same time as Othello and it was interesting to see how such a small play can have common features with a play as long and as complicated as Shakespeare’s Othello.

I loved the humour of this play and I would love to see it on stage at some point. It’s a very short play which I enjoyed a lot.

four revenge tragediesThe Revenger’s Tragedy by Thomas Middleton

The Revenger’s Tragedy is a play that’s obviously influence by Hamlet. The first scene shows the revenger, Vindice (his name literally means avenger in Italian) talking to the skull of his deceased betrothed. The play is a violent portrayal of lust and ambition set in an Italian court. I really enjoyed reading it.

I bought The Revenger’s Tragedy in a collection.

four revenge tragediesThe Atheist’s Tragedy by Cyril Tourneur

This play is so weird. I just can’t describe how strange it is. It’s more of a tragicomedy than a full tragedy as there’s almost a happy ending for some of the characters but some characters die.

The Atheist’s Tragedy concerns itself with religion and tries to warn against the dangers of Atheism in the Jacobean era. I guess. I mean, it is about that but it also isn’t at the same time. The ending is weird too. I hope I don’t end up writing an essay on this play because as you can see I’m confused by it.

I bought The Atheist’s Tragedy in a collection.

The Shorter Poems by Edmund Spenser

The Shorter PoemsThe title of this book should give some indication to what’s inside but some of the poems featured in this collection were not short. I’m talking about The Shepheardes Calender which is an incredibly long poem to say that it’s one of Spenser’s shorter poems. I really enjoy reading Spenser’s poetry though and I plan on reading The Faerie Queene soon.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live HereI completed this book so much faster than I expected. I really enjoyed it and it was unusual but also kind of what I expected.

I’m not going to say too much about it now because I’m currently writing my review on it and I’ll publish it as soon as I’ve published my reviews for the first three books in The Raven Cycle. So look out for my review on this one!

I will just say again that I really liked it.

Note: I haven’t included the critical books I’ve read for university.


Book reviews posted:


Tags and Awards:


My October Goals:

Did I achieve them? Let’s find out…

  • Buy more books
  • Read more books
  • Post at least four book reviews
  • Write more personal posts
  • Post at least 6 times a week
  • Take part in each meme weekly instead of whenever I can be bothered.
  • Sort out my TBR page

Goals for November:

  • Buy at least 5 books
  • Read at least 5 books that aren’t on my university reading list
  • Post at least 5 book reviews
  • Sort out a December TBR
  • Take part in a challenge/meme on Instagram
  • Buy my best friend’s Christmas present(s) (everyone else gets money)

That’s it for this month’s recap.

Sorry for the very long post.

Leave a Reply

