Books

Musing Mondays – 2nd November 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Have you ever chosen a book, mostly because of its cover art, and then regretted it because the content didn’t live up to your expectations?


I’m just answering the random question again this week.

Have you ever chosen a book, mostly because of its cover art, and then regretted it because the content didn’t live up to your expectations?

Northern Lights coverI bought Northern Lights by Philip Pullman because cover art was beautiful but I wasn’t disappointed by the book. I really enjoyed the book and went on to read the rest of the trilogy. I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed by a book that I’ve bought because the cover art caught my eye.

However, I have regretted buying books just because they have been popular, like The Fault in Our Stars and Looking For Alaska by John Green. I should probably stop buying books just because of the hype surrounding them. I don’t know why I thought I’d enjoy these books because they’re not my usual read but I gave them a go.


Have you bought a gorgeous book that didn’t live up to your expectations?

Leave a Reply

