Books

Musing Mondays – 16th November 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What has been your most favorite book, so far, this year? Why?


I’ve just completed my first essay of my Masters degree! It’s due in tomorrow at noon so I’m heading into uni very early tomorrow morning.

This means that I can finally start reading my own books again. Hooray! I’m currently reading three books that I hope to finish by this weekend. Then I can start reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater and The House of Hades by Rick Riordan.

Righto, on to this week’s random question…


What has been your most favorite book, so far, this year? Why?

My favourite book so far this year has been The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

The Raven Boys coverWhat it’s about:

Blue has spent the majority of her sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. When Blue meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road she knows there is only one reason why – either he is her true love or she has killed him. Determined to find out the truth, Blue becomes involved with the Raven Boys, four boys from the local private school (lead by Gansey) who are on a quest to discover Glendower – a lost ancient Welsh King who is buried somewhere along the Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour. Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey her true love? She can’t imagine a time she would feel like that, and she is adamant not to be the reason for his death. Where will fate lead them? …


I adored this book. There aren’t enough words to describe my love for this book. I loved the characters, the plot, the writing style, the cars. Just everything. I enjoyed the sequels too but this one is my favourite because it’s the introduction to the series and the characters. It was also my introduction to Maggie Stiefvater as a writer.

Read my review of it here.


Which book is your favourite of the year so far?

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – 16th November 2015

Leave a Reply

