Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 17th November 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So


I’m choosing my favourite quotes from any books. Not just the books I’ve read this year.

This one is going to be so much fun. I love picking out quotes from books because they’re just so easy to memorize.

1. It was a pleasure to burn. It was a special pleasure to see things eaten, to see things blackened and changed.
– from Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

2. The only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
from The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

3. Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind,
And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind. 
from A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

4. There are darknesses in life, and there are lights; and you are one of the lights.
– from Dracula by Bram Stoker

5. Perhaps one did not want to be loved so much as to be understood.
– from 1984 by George Orwell

6. ‘Yeah’, said Harry. ‘No more pretending we care what happens when Jupiter and Uranus get too friendly.’

‘And from now on, I don’t care if my tea leaves spell die, Ron, die – I’m just chucking them in the bin where they belong.’
– from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling

7. There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves; it is not my nature.
– from Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

8. Now thou has loved me one whole day,
Tomorrow when you leav’st, what wilt thou say?
– from Woman’s Constancy by John Donne (technically a poem but it oh well)

9. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.
– from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

10. It is to the credit of human nature that, except where its selfishness is brought into play, it loves more readily than it hates.
– from The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne


So, there you have it. My ten favourite quotes. What are yours?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 17th November 2015

Leave a Reply

