Books

Musing Mondays – 23rd November 2015

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Jenn over at A Daily Rhythm. You just have to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Why do you read?


Why do you read?

This is a difficult question to answer. I’ve never really thought about why I read.

When I think about it I realise that I read for two different reasons:

  1. I have to. I’m doing an English Literature degree which means that most of what I read has been assigned. However, I wouldn’t have chosen to do an English Literature degree if I didn’t love reading. That brings me on to reason number 2…
  2. I love reading. I read because it makes me happy. I read because it relaxes me after a long day travelling or researching or writing. I read because it’s an escape from everyday life. I read because literature is one of my passions and I want to indulge myself in that passion whenever I can.

My absolute love of reading and literature has influenced my choices in education and hopefully my career choices (if I get to do what I want to do). I was originally going to do a science/maths degree but I realised that I needed to do something that I was passionate about. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Chemistry but Literature is where my heart belongs.


Happy Monday!

 

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – 23rd November 2015

Leave a Reply

