Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 24th November 2015

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Thanksgiving themed Freebie — ten books I’m thankful for, authors I’m thankful for, Ten fictional families I’d like to celebrate Thanksgiving with, a personal non-bookish thankful list, etc. etc.

We don’t have Thanksgiving in the UK (obviously, since it’s an American holiday about the pilgrims). I honestly don’t know what Thanksgiving celebrations entail. From what I’ve gathered there’s a turkey involved (what do you guys eat at Christmas if you eat turkey for Thanksgiving?) and pie. I’m sure it involves much more than that though!

Anyway, I’m choosing: Ten Books (including Poetry and Plays) I’m Thankful For…


1. 1984 by George Orwell

1984 coverI have to thank this book because it introduced me to dystopian fiction and it really made me think about society when I was 13. When I read it again at 19 it challenged my perceptions of the binary constructs of masculinity and femininity, the notion of anti-heroes, and war-torn society. This book has been a huge part of my life since I was a teenager.

2. Dracula by Bram Stoker

Dracula penguinI’m thankful for this book because it’s one of my favourite books of all time. I always find new details each time I read this book and it never fails to grip me as a reader. It’s just a classic book and I’m thankful that it exists.

I’m also thankful to Dracula because I got a First on the essay I wrote on the depiction of the New Woman in this book.

3. I am Legend by Richard Matheson

I am LegendThis is another book from my teenage years. We watched the film, starring Will Smith, in class at school and I was inspired to read the book.

I’m thankful that the book is so much better than the film.

I’m also thankful that 14-year-old me had the sense to read the book after watching the film.

4. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys coverI’m thankful for this book because it has been the best book I have read so far in 2015.

I’m thankful for this book because it introduced me to Maggie Stiefvater’s writing. I also need to thank this book for being one of the only YA novels (along with its two sequels) that I can stand. I’m not a great fan of YA but this book is just amazing.

5. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night's DreamThis was a choice between A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Twelfth Night but I think A Midsummer Night’s Dream has influenced my life a tad more than Twelfth Night. Dream is one of the first Shakespeare plays that I encountered. I immediately fell in love with Shakespeare after reading A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Twelfth Night but Dream stayed with me right up until my BA dissertation where I focused on the darkness of desire in Shakespearean comedies. It’s one of my favourite plays and I’m so glad that I had the chance to write on it in such detail.

6. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's StoneThis book is my childhood. My parents read it to me (because I wasn’t really old enough to understand it by myself) and the series captured me. I lost interest around Order of the Phoenix the first time around, mainly because I was just too young for it (I was only 9 when it was published). But I did manage to finish the series before I left high school.

My only regret is that my mum gave away all of my original copies when I lost interest. It isn’t her fault though because she didn’t know that I’d want to read them again in the future.

7. To Autumn by John Keats

John KeatsThis is my favourite poem. Ever. I adore it so much. Words cannot describe my love for it. My url is a line from this poem. That’s how much I love it.

John Keats is my favourite Romantic poet and this is one of his best poems in my opinion.

Read it here.

8. How Do I Love Thee (Sonnet 43) by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Elizabeth Barrett Browning

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of being and ideal grace.

I’ve seen this sonnet attributed to Shakespeare and it pains my heart when I see that. This is such a gorgeous poem by Elizabeth Barrett Browning and I’m so thankful that she wrote it, even if some people ignore that it’s by her.

9. Whoso List To Hunt by Sir Thomas Wyatt

Thomas WyattThis poem was my first experience of Early Modern/Renaissance/Tudor poetry. It remains one of my favourite poems to this day.

I have never studied Thomas Wyatt, even though I’m now into my Masters Degree, which is a shame because I love his poetry. I’m thankful to this poem for introducing me to such a wonderful period of poetry.

10. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

TwilightI’m thankful to this book for one reason and one reason only: It sparked me addiction to reading. Twilight was very much in fashion when I was 13. Everyone was reading it and I wasn’t going to be left out. I did quickly move on from Twilight (onto 1984 in fact) but Twilight is the book that got me reading again.


Which books are you thankful for?

Happy (early) Thanksgiving to everyone who is American!

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 24th November 2015

    1. I was only 3 when the first book came out! I think my parents started reading them to me when I was about 6ish and OotP came out when I was 9. I went to a midnight launch for that one!

      I can’t believe how young I was.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

