Books · Personal

The Sunday Post #9

The Sunday Post

Hi guys! I’ve been missing since Wednesday, again, but I’m back now. Hopefully. On to the Sunday Post…

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This post is an opportunity to recap the past week on my blog and in my personal life. It’s also a chance to set up some goals for the upcoming week and talk about anything else that I want to talk about.

See the rules here.


Personal:

I had a meeting about PhDs at the beginning of this week that left me disheartened. The only people present were Science and Business tutors and they belittled Arts and Humanities a bit.

However, on Friday I spoke to a Linguistics PhD student who is one of my modules and she’s offered to talk to me about applications etc. So I’m more optimistic now.


Christmas:

I bought my mum’s present – an iPad Air. It’s a joint gift between me and my dad. We’ll both buy her something else too but only small gifts.

I bought books for two of my nieces and my nephew. (See photo below)

I also bought my best friend’s gifts – well, two of them.


Last week’s to-do list:

  • Post a book review for Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • Post a book review for The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Post a book review for Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Post a book review for The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  • Complete Die Trying by Lee Child
  • Read all theoretical/critical essays and books set for university
  • Read The Aeneid – Book 6 by Virgil
  • Re-read The Spanish Tragedy by Thomas Kyd
  • Read The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser

University goals went well this week. Blogging and personal reading goals did not.


This week’s to-do list:

  • Post a book review for The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Post a book review for The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  • Complete Die Trying by Lee Child
  • Read all theoretical/critical essays and books set for university
  • Re-read The Metamorphoses by Ovid
  • Re-read Titus Andronicus by William Shakespeare
  • Re-read The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Start a food and exercise diary

Random:

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #9

Leave a Reply

