Books

December 2015 TBR

December TBR

Hi everyone!

It’s December. December means that I’m constantly wishing for snow so that I don’t have to go to class (I hate going to classes in the winter). I drink more hot chocolate during this month and I do during the rest of the year. I’m sure there’s something else important that happens in December… Christmas! The best thing about Christmas this year is that I haven’t got to work every day. I’m actually excited about Christmas for once. I apologise for rambling on to anyone who doesn’t celebrate Christmas!

Since it’s the 1st of December I’m posting this month’s TBR. November’s TBR did not go well. At all. I didn’t finish anything that I had started reading. So I’m going to include the books I started in November as part of my December TBR along with some other books too.


Firstly, here’s a link to my November TBR post.

I’m still reading these books which I started in October and November:

I’m not going to start Tripwire until next year now because I still haven’t finished Die Trying. I’m also not going to start The House of Hades until 2016 because I want to read different books instead.


These are the books I want to read in December:

the colour of magic coverThe Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

What it’s about:

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell very much like our own, but which looks completely different. Particularly as it’s carried though space on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown). It plays by different rules.

But then, some things are the same everywhere. The Disc’s very existence is about to be threatened by a strange new blight: the world’s first tourist, upon whose survival rests the peace and prosperity of the land. Unfortunately, the person charged with maintaining that survival in the face of robbers, mercenaries and, well, Death, is a spectacularly inept wizard…


Tipping the Velvet coverTipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters

What it’s about:

Piercing the shadows of the naked stage was a single shaft of rosy limelight, and in the centre of this was a girl: the most marvellous girl – I knew it at once! – that I had ever seen.

A saucy, sensuous and multi-layered historical romance, Tipping the Velvet follows the glittering career of Nan King – oyster girl turned music-hall star turned rent boy turned East End ‘tom’.

I was meant to read this book for my BA way back in April but I didn’t bother reading it because I knew that I wasn’t going to write on it. I did buy it though so I’m determined to read it before the end of this year.


The Shipping NewsThe Shipping News by Annie Proulx

What it’s about:

Annie Proulx’s highly acclaimed, international bestseller and Pulitzer Prize-winning novel.

Quoyle is a hapless, hopeless hack journalist living and working in New York. When his no-good wife is killed in a spectacular road accident, Quoyle heads for the land of his forefathers — the remotest corner of far-flung Newfoundland. With ‘the aunt’ and his delinquent daughters — Bunny and Sunshine — in tow, Quoyle finds himself part of an unfolding, exhilarating Atlantic drama.

‘The Shipping News’ is an irresistible comedy of human life and possibility.


The Song of Achilles coveerThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

What it’s about:

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’s mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess. But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.

 


The Hound of the BaskervillesThe Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

‘Mr. Holmes, they were the footprints of a gigantic hound!’

The death, quite suddenly, of Sir Charles Baskerville in mysterious circumstances is the trigger for one of the most extraordinary cases ever to challenge the brilliant analytical mind of Sherlock Holmes. As rumours of a legendary hound said to haunt the Baskerville family circulate, Holmes and Watson are asked to ensure the protection of Sir Charles’ only heir, Sir Henry – who has travelled all the way from America to reside at Baskerville Hall in Devon. And it is there, in an isolated mansion surrounded by mile after mile of wild moor, that Holmes and Watson come face to face with a terrifying evil that reaches out from centuries past . . .


Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

What it’s about:

Les Mis cover‘He was no longer Jean Valjean, but No. 24601’

Victor Hugo’s tale of injustice, heroism and love follows the fortunes of Jean Valjean, an escaped convict determined to put his criminal past behind him. But his attempts to become a respected member of the community are constantly put under threat: by his own conscience, when, owing to a case of mistaken identity, another man is arrested in his place; and by the relentless investigations of the dogged policeman Javert. It is not simply for himself that Valjean must stay free, however, for he has sworn to protect the baby daughter of Fantine, driven to prostitution by poverty. A compelling and compassionate view of the victims of early nineteenth-century French society, Les Misérables is a novel on an epic scale, moving inexorably from the eve of the battle of Waterloo to the July Revolution of 1830.


So, 4 books from previous months and 6 new books. I hope I manage to read all 10 books within December.

I am starting Les Miserables today because I know that it’ll take me a fairly long time to read so I’m giving myself the whole month to read it.


What’s on your December TBR?

 

Leave a Reply

