Personal

12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 1

I was nominated by Deanna to do this challenge! The challenge was created by StephJ. Go check out their blogs!


The Rules:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

12-days-of-christmas-blogging


Day 1: List your favourite things about Christmas

Spending time with my parents – They both work a lot and I’m always at uni. The few days surrounding Christmas are some of the only days that we can spend together with no worries about work or anything like that. The only other time that happens is if we book a family holiday, like we’re going on next year, because otherwise my dad doesn’t have any time off work.

The food – My mum is an amazing cook and she enjoys making Christmas dinner which is great. She likes to be left alone in the kitchen until it’s time to mash the potatoes – which is my dad’s job. The food is always delicious and it’s the one time every year that I get to eat turkey, which I love. It”s just so nice to sit around the table with my parents, eating good food and pulling crackers.

Giving gifts – Ever since I got my own job I’ve enjoyed giving gifts. It’s just nice to be able to get someone you love something that they really want – or just something that they’d like or enjoy – and it’s the best part of Christmas for me. Although, I do have to give my dad money instead because he likes to save up his money to buy something that he really want (and it’s usually really expensive!)

The inevitable book as a gift – I always get a book for Christmas. My grandparents bought me one every year until my granddad passed away but now my parents have started giving me a book for Christmas. Last year I got a first edition of Terry Pratchett’s The Fifth Elephant and an 1850 copy of Robinson Crusoe. This year I’m hoping for the illustrated version of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Fingers crossed.

Decorating the tree – It’s just a great part of Christmas. It’s annoying when you have to take it down though!

Boxing Day – I love Boxing Day. It’s such a calm, lazy day.


I’m nominating:

Charley @ Books and Bakes 1

Claire @ Art and Soul

Ariana @ The Quirky Book Nerd


Thanks again to Deanna for tagging me in this great challenge!

 

 

One thought on “12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 1

Leave a Reply

