Books

Book Review – The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves

Title: The Dream Thieves
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult / Paranormal / Fantasy
Date: 2013
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 450
Started: 25th September 2015
Completed: 4th October 2015
Rating: 5/5
Summary: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Blue and Gansey will be the same. Ronan is falling more and more deeply into his dreams … and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Gansey is needed at home, and is struggling to stay in Aglionby. And Adam? He’s made some new friends. Friends that are looking for some of the same pieces of the puzzle that Gansey, Blue, and Ronan are after. Great power is at stake, and someone must be willing to wield it. – Amazon


Released in 2013, The Dream Thieves is the second book in The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. It follows The Raven Boys and is followed by Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King (due to be released in 2016).

I have already reviewed The Raven Boys. Read my review here.


Most of what I liked about this book is similar to what I enjoyed about The Raven Boys.

The characters are amazing. I loved the introduction of Mr Gray. He’s a fascinating character.

Also, the introduction of Kavinsky is what made this novel so exciting for me. He brings a real sense of danger to the book. Kavinsky is so much like Ronan and yet he’s also incredibly different. He’s self destructive, crass, dangerous, and a disgusting human being whereas Ronan is self-destructive, crass, dangerous but not a disgusting human being. There’s a distinct difference between the two characters which can mainly be seen in how they treat the people around them. Despite being horrible Kavinsky is also very interesting and I wanted to know more about him and his relationship with Ronan as the book progressed. He is one of my favourite characters in the series despite being a truly horrid character.

I love the evolution of Ronan’s character in this book. It really feels like you get to know Ronan in The Dream Thieves and he seems to be the central character. Ronan is a very complicated, interesting character and I’m glad that Stiefvater expanded his character so much in this book. I finally understood why so many people loved Ronan after reading this book. Gansey is still my favourite though.

Blue seems to get stronger as a person in The Dream Thieves and Maggie Stiefvater has a real gift for writing great female characters. I really like Blue’s personality and she’s one of the best female characters I’ve come across in a long time.

All of the characters grow in some way in The Dream Thieves and the character progression is one of the best things about this sequel. However, I must admit that didn’t like Adam in this book than I did in The Raven Boys but I can’t pinpoint why.


The plot progression is wonderful. I very rarely find a sequel as captivating as the first book but the plot of The Dream Thieves hooked me. The story just seems to get better with every book in The Raven Cycle.

There seems to be a more in depth look at Blue’s family and their abilities. This means that there’s more magic in the book which is always a good thing. Also, the magic of Cabeswater is explored more through Adam who sacrificed his free will to open the ley lines in The Raven Boys. Cabeswater is a huge part of this book and the mythology surrounding it and Gansey’s quest for Glendower intrigues me.

The street races are another thing that I loved. You get to see more of Ronan’s personality through his racing and they involved Kavinsky too which means that you got a real insight into their relationship. Plus, I love cars and racing.


The Gansey/Blue/Adam love triangle really bugs me but that’s the only thing I disliked about this book.

This is why I rated it 5/5. I love practically everything about this book. If only that pesky love triangle would disappear…


Overall, I truly enjoyed this book and I’d definitely recommend it.

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Oh I am so happy you loved this one just as much as I did Amy^^ Ronan was an instant favorite of mine so obviously I was thrilled about this book from start to finish ♥ It’s funny because one of my best bookish friends’ favorite is Gansey too, just like you. I love him to pieces too though, don’t get me wrong! You’re totally right in your analysis of Ronan VS Kavinsky and like you, I also liked Adam a little less in this one…and I don’t quite remember why either. Anyways, reading your review was a treat! I’m already looking forward to see how you make out with Blue Lily, Lily Blue 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such an amazing book. I really fell in love with Ronan. My best friend’s favourite is Ronan too 🙂

      I don’t know what it was about Adam that made me like him less. I think he was meant to be less likeable in this book though.

      I’m guessing you’re looking forward to the release of The Raven King as much as I am then! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

