Books · Personal

The Sunday Post #13

The Sunday Post

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas (if you celebrate).

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

This post is an opportunity to recap the past week on my blog and in my personal life. It’s also a chance to set up some goals for the upcoming week and talk about anything else that I want to talk about.

See the rules here.


Personal:

I had a wonderful Christmas.

We went to my sister’s house in the morning and I played monopoly with the kids. I had to stop them from attacking each other at one point. Monopoly always brings out the worst in people. I gave the kids books for Christmas and they were so happy with them. One of my nieces screamed because she’d been wanting the book for ages but my sister wouldn’t buy it her because the RRP was £16.99.

We then went home and opened our own presents. I bought my mum a scarf that I featured in last week’s Sunday Post and she loved it! I bought my dad a tool bag (which he’s very happy with) and a new hat. I also gave my dad some money because I like to spend the same amount of money on my parents.

My parents bought me so much stuff. I think they went a bit overboard. I got:

  • a Bose speaker (it’s so tiny but so awesome)
  • a teeny bottle of Chanel No 5 parfum (it’s only got 7.5ml in it but it’s so expensive)
  • the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  • 4 Funko Pop! figures (Groot, Hawkeye, Snape, and Loki)
  • Until Dawn
  • Benefit’s They’re Real mascara
  • Loads of Soap & Glory products
  • Chocolate
  • DVDs – The Bad Education Movie and The Man from U.N.C.L.E
  • Hozier’s album
  • An Iron Man mug

I bought my best friend some Ted Baker nail polish, a Thranduil bookmark, a One Direction notebook, and some earrings. She gave me a sloth t-shirt, a Toy Story charm bracelet, a Great British Bake Off calendar, and some badges.

Christmas dinner was amazingI was actually ill on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day (some sort of bug) but I still managed to eat a huge portion of Christmas dinner. The turkey was lovely and the mashed potatoes were just fantastic. Everything about it was just wonderful.

We spent the rest of the day relaxing and watching terrible TV. It was a perfect day.


Books I’ve been given:

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Illustrated Edition)
  • The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett – this is my second copy of this book
  • The Last Continent by Terry Pratchett
  • The Science of Discworld III by Terry Pratchett
  • Carpe Jugulum by Terry Pratchett
  • The Truth by Terry Pratchett
  • Going Postal by Terry Pratchett
  • Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett
  • Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett
  • Thud! by Terry Pratchett
  • Night Watch by Terry Pratchett
  • The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett
  • A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
  • Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett
  • Making Money by Terry Pratchett
  • I Shall Wear Midnight by Terry Pratchett – another book that I now have two copies of

All of the Terry Pratchett books belonged to my late granddad. It’s now been three and a half years since he passed away and I felt comfortable enough to take them home. My nan has been asking me to take them since my granddad passed away but it just made it feel too real.

TP books


Last week’s to-do list:

  • Go to Leeds with my best friend (we’re going to try and meet up before Christmas)
  • Wrap Christmas presents
  • Finish a book
  • Enjoy Christmas
  • Post a book review for Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • Post a book review for Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

This week’s to-do list:

  • Post a book review for Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  • Post a book review for Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Write at least 500 words on each of my essays
  • Finish a book

Random:

sloth tshirt presents

The sloth t-shirt from my best friend and two of the presents from my parents.


I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!

28 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #13

    1. Yeah, I’ve been the only child at home for about 15 years so I’m very spoiled. But I try to spoil my parents too because they deserve it.

      If you were going to start I would suggest the Tiffany Aching series. They’re YA books but they’re a nice intro to his writing 🙂

      Like

    1. I’ve seen some of the TV show and I didn’t see the film while it was in the cinema. I do think Jack Whitehall is hilarious though.

      Cluedo is the best board game ever. I love it. We don’t really play board games any more though. Unless I’m at my sister’s house because her kids are really into them at the moment 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s the only board game that I’m any good at. I’m not ruthless enough for monopoly. I’m better at card games though. I know of Articulate but it was never one of the board games we had.

        Like

      2. My nephew bankrupted himself buying the 4th station he landed on. He wanted a complete collection but then he had no money left. No matter how much I tried to explain that the aim wasn’t just to buy everything on the board they all ignored me 🙂

        I’m sure the kids will get it at some point and I’ll be roped into playing it 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

