Books

WWW Wednesday -30th December 2015

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

Die TryingDie Trying by Lee Child

I read a few more chapters of Die Trying this week. I’m enjoying the chapters from Reacher’s point of view but the other chapters are annoying me a bit. It’s taking a while to get to any action but it’s still good. I just wish there were more chapters from Reacher’s point of view because I enjoy reading his voice.

I have currently read 35% of this book.

Fahrenheit 451Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury 

No progress on this book this week. I am enjoying this book but the lack of chapters means that I can’t find a good place to put it down. I think I need a long, uninterrupted period of time where I can finish the book. I plan on dedicating one day to it in the next couple of days.

I have currently read 25% of this book.

The Girl in the Spider's WebThe Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

I read another chapter this week.

I am enjoying this book. It’s going very slowly though. I’d like to finish it soon though because I’d like to read the original trilogy again.

I have currently read 15% of this book.


The Hound of the BaskervillesRecently finished:

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle 

I did enjoy The Hound of the Baskervilles but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the other Sherlock Holmes stories that I’ve read. I will be publishing a full review on this book next month so look out for that!


What I’m reading next:

GoldingMetamorphoses by Ovid (Golding’s 1567 translation)

I’ve read a new translation of Ovid’s Metamorphoses but for my essay about translations of Ovid in the Renaissance period I need to read this translation. Golding’s translation was used by William Shakespeare, Edmund Spenser, and so many other famous writers of the early modern period.

I’m going to read this in one day. I need to.

the mysteries of udolphoThe Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe

This is one of the books that is on the reading list for my Gothic module at university. I have read extracts of it before but I’m looking forward to reading the book in its entirety.

I’m starting it in January even though I’m not studying until the middle of February. I need to give myself enough time to get through it.

The MonlThe Monk by Matthew Lewis

Another book that has been set for my Gothic module. I have read extracts of this one too because my BA ‘Romantic period writing’ and ‘Gothic’ modules were apparently fairly thorough.

This one isn’t due to be studied until March but I have other books to read for the module too so I need to get this one read before the module starts.


twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday -30th December 2015

  1. I actually Ovid Metamorphoses last year for a university module. It surprised me in that I found it quite an interesting read.
    Looking forward to your review of Hound of the Baskervilles, it’s not my favourite Holmes book either. Sign of Four is my favourite, though the Casebook and Adventures come close because there are so many good short stories in both! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read a new translation in the first year of my BA but I’ve now got to read a translation from 1567 because of the era I’m studying. I loved it at undergrad but I love Greek and Roman mythology so it was a great read for me.

      I need to buy the Casebook but I’m looking forward to starting The Valley of Fear when I get the chance 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m doing a Greek Culture and Drama module atm, with an assignment in for the 4th!
        I love Greek and Roman mythology too, the Percy Jackson book series got me into it haha.
        The Valley of Fear is decent, but different. That was a good non-spoiler analysis lol! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow. That sounds intense. I’m looking at the Renaissance responses to Greek and Roman literature so I still get to read the classical literature but it isn’t my main priority. I do love Virgil though. He’s my favourite. Ovid is a very close second.

        I love the Percy Jackson books too! They’re a fab intro into mythology 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is. :/ That module of yours sounds quite interesting. I did The Aeneid in my first year and loved it, I actually got a first for that assignment. 🙂 What’s the name of the course that you’re doing?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m doing an MA in Early Modern Lit. But one of my modules is about the relationship between antiquity and the Renaissance. So I’m writing an essay about Ovid, Shakespeare, and Arthur Golding at the moment. It’s an intense essay but fun.

        I love book six of The Aeneid. I love it all but that’s the best book in my opinion. Probably because it had the most influence on the era in studying 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

