Books · Personal

2015 End of Year Book Survey

 

2015 end of year survey

Hi guys! Happy New Year’s Eve!

This first half of this post is the End of Year Book Survey created by Perpetual Page Turner. It looked like a really fun way to round up the year.

Okay, let’s get on with this extrememly long post…

2015 reading stats

Number Of Books You Read: 52

Number of Re-Reads: 1

Genre You Read The Most From: I mostly read literature from the Renaissance period so it doesn’t really have a genre because they’re all plays and poetry. If I don’t include these texts then I’ve mostly read contemporary YA. Which is weird for me because I’m not usually a fan of that genre.

best in books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015? 

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Without a doubt. I loved this book so much.
2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. I was looking forward to finally reading something by Hemingway but I was just so underwhelmed with the book.
3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  
The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. I wasn’t sure whether I’d actually like the book or not. I was intrigued by the blurb but I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did.
4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
I pushed people to read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Some people have and some people haven’t. My best friend still hasn’t read it even though I lent her my copy in April.
5a. Best series you started in 2015?
The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.
5b. Best Sequel of 2015?
I’m going to have to say The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.
5c. Best Series Ender of 2015?
I didn’t finish a series in 2015. Oops.
6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
So many. I’m going to go with my top 5: Maggie Stiefvater, James Dashner, Patrick Ness, Maxine Hong Kingston, and Lee Child.
I also discovered that Lee Child attended the university that I’m currently studying at. Weird.
7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I don’t normally enjoy pseudo-historical novels but I loved this one.
8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
The most action packed was probably Killing Floor by Lee Child.
9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Maybe the first three books in The Raven Cycle. But it’s unlikely that I’ll re-read any of the books that I’ve read in 2015. I have too many new books that I want to read in 2016.
10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
I really loved the cover of The Rest of Us Just Live Here. My copy is a cloth-bound version which I just love.
11. Most memorable character of 2015?
Ronan from The Dream Thieves or Childermass from Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. Maybe even Tamora from Titus Andronicus. She’s a piece of work.
12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?
The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston. The writing is just so good. I loved it.
13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?
The most thought-provoking book I read in 2015 was probably On the Road by Jack Kerouac. I didn’t enjoy it but it was really interesting.
14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

The Maze Runner by James Dashner. I really should have read it ages ago. Before the first film came out. Oh well.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015

“She wore a gown the colour of storms, shadows and rain and a necklace of broken promises and regrets.” – pp.190-191 from Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell
16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?
Shortest: A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams  – 111 pages
Longest: The Riverside Chaucer by Geoffrey Chaucer – 1,327 pages
17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. This book is full of twists and turns and I could hardly keep up.
18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Gansey and Blue from The Raven Boys

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

My favourite non-romantic relationships are also from The Raven Cycle. I love the friendship between Blue and Noah. There’s no romance there because he’s dead. Also, I love the non-romantic relationship between Gansey and Ronan.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. I love all of his books and The Mark of Athena didn’t disappoint me.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I wasn’t too fussed about reading it until a friend with excellent taste in books recommended it. I trusted her judgement enough to read it. And I loved it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

GANSEY. Everyone loves Ronan but I prefer Gansey
23. Best 2015 debut you read?
I don’t think I read any ‘debut’ novels this year.
24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
This is a very strange answer but probably The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser. The setting of the poem is beautiful.
25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?
I cried when I read the short story ‘Brokeback Mountain’ by Annie Proulx. I didn’t cry at any of the other stories in the collection but I did cry at this one.
27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle. I finally finished this book after two years of on-and-off reading but it was such a good little book.
28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m sure that The Raven King will crush my soul in 2016.
29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?
The most unique book I read was probably The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston. I’ve never read anything like it before.
30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
The Passion of New Eve by Angela Carter. This is a book that I didn’t like and it did make me mad because I hated it.

Your Blogging Bookish Life

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

All of the blogs that I follow. I didn’t start this blog until 2015. I do love Pretty Books though and I even follow them on tumblr.

This community has the nicest people though. You’re all wonderful

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

Hmm, probably my reviews for The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves because I got to gush about how much I loved them. I did enjoy writing my review on Gone Girl ages ago but that one needs some serious editing.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I love taking part in memes and stuff. Top Ten Tuesday and WWW Wednesday are always great for discussions and I love looking at other people’s posts for these memes too.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Like I answered for the previous question, memes are a great way to interact with the blogging community.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

The best moment of my bookish life was getting a signed copy of the latest Rick Riordan book. I was a very happy girl when that arrived on my doorstep.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

The most challenging thing about reading and blogging this year was my lack of time. I need to be more organised and stop setting myself unrealistic goals.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

According to WordPress it was Top Ten Tuesday – 27th October 2015 which has 39 comments. What a random post.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Some of my reviews. Perhaps I should write reviews more often so that they get noticed among all of the other posts on my blog.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Book Depository. It has free shipping worldwide and I can buy hardback books that are no longer available on Amazon in the covers that I want.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

The only challenge that I set myself was to read 50 books for the Goodreads Challenge. I completed it!

Looking ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

Kraken by China Miéville. It’s been on my reading list for so long now and I wanted to read it in 2015 but didn’t get around to it. I’m determined to read it in January 2016.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I can’t think of any.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

I should say The Raven King again but I’m very much looking forward to reading The Scorch Trials by James Dashner.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Read more books. I plan on reading 60 books in 2016 and I want to review more of them. I also want to complete the reviews that I didn’t finish this year.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone

None.


Here’s a quick addition to this survey…

Number of reviews posted: 17


twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

11 thoughts on “2015 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Gah! Raven Boys! Not only was that book a favourite when I read it last year, but it’s an all-time favourite series. I can’t wait for Raven King…even though I’m worried I might not survive it 😄 Oh and one of my best blogger friends LOVES Gansey more…though I’ll admit I prefer Ronan LOL! I’ll hopefully be reading The Rest of Us Just Live Here in 2016 myself, along with Gone Girl and Maze Runner! Looks like you had a wonderful first year of blogging Amy! I wish you nothing but the best for 2016, in books, blogging and real life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed The Raven Boys and have the rest of the books high on my TBR (I want to get to them in time to get the final book when it comes out). I’m looking forward to continuing this series in the new year!
    Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is high on my wish list too after seeing the BBC’s brilliant adaptation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gone Girl isn’t for everyone. It can be rather graphic and it made me feel a bit sick even though I’m not squeamish. But if you like YA then you should try The Raven Boys 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

