Books · Personal

December 2015 Recap

month recap

It’s the last day of December! 2015 has gone by so quickly and it’s time for the final monthly recap of the year.


Personal:

The beginning of December was weird because it we had really mild weather and it didn’t feel like December at all. To be honest, the weather was terrible in the UK this December. The north flooded a few times, including Boxing Day, but it didn’t ruin Christmas because communities came together to help each other out.

We put up our Christmas decorations on the 13th of December. It’s a family tradition to put the tree up on the 12th of December and take it down on the 6th of January but this year we were a day late. It didn’t ruin anything though. It was still just as nice to put it up on the 13th.

I finished university for the holidays on the 14th but I started my essays in the same week. They’re not due in until the 19th of January though.

I saw my best friend on the 23rd of December – just before Christmas – to exchange gifts and catch up. It was so nice to see her, especially since I won’t be able to see her for a while now. I probably won’t be able to see her until her birthday in February.

Christmas was amazing. See my post about it here. I couldn’t have asked for a better Christmas. I loved it this year.

Tonight, I’ll be ringing in the New Year with my family. I hope 2016 is as good as 2015 was.


Books I’ve bought:

  • The Metamorphoses by Ovid (Golding’s translation)
  • The Vampyre by John Polidori
  • The Monk by Matthew Gregory Lewis
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
  • Zofloya by Charlotte Dacre

Books I’ve been given:

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – Illustrated Edition
  • The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett
  • The Last Continent by Terry Pratchett
  • The Science of Discworld III by Terry Pratchett
  • Carpe Jugulum by Terry Pratchett
  • The Truth by Terry Pratchett
  • Going Postal by Terry Pratchett
  • Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett
  • Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett
  • Thud! by Terry Pratchett
  • Night Watch by Terry Pratchett
  • The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett
  • A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett
  • Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett
  • Making Money by Terry Pratchett
  • I Shall Wear Midnight by Terry Pratchett

Books I’ve read:

  • Metamorphoses by Ovid [new translation] (re-read)
  • Titus Andronicus by William Shakespeare (re-read)
  • Amores by Ovid
  • The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer (re-read)
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

Book reviews:


December goals:

  • Buy some books.
  • Read at least 5 books that aren’t on my university list.
  • Post at least 5 book reviews
  • Sort out a January TBR
  • Sort out some bookish challenges for 2016 
  • Start writing all three of my essays for university
  • Enjoy Christmas!
  • Lose at least 5lbs.

I did lose 4lbs before Christmas but then I put it all back on. That’s the only problem with Christmas!

January Goals:

  • Complete and hand in essays
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Post at least 1 recipe
  • Sort out a February TBR
  • Buy my friend’s birthday present
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Post more on instagram

Just a quick note:

I hope everyone had an amazing year in 2015. I know that 2016 is going to be a wonderful year too and I wish everyone the best.

Thank you all for following my blog for the past year (it turns 1 year old tomorrow!) and I just want to say that the bookish community on wordpress is so nice and it’s lovely to interact with such kind people.

Have an amazing final day of 2015 (or first day of 2016 depending on where you are in the world).

Love, Amy x


twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

5 thoughts on “December 2015 Recap

  1. We all eat too much over Christmas! Chocolate log and cream will be my downfall. What part of the UK are you in? I’m in London so been reading all the reports. We only take our decorations down on the sixth too as we celebrate the Epiphany.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m from Yorkshire. York was really badly flooded and some of my friends from university still live there and some of my school friends live in Leeds which was badly flooded too. My part of the county (South Yorkshire) was very lucky because we didn’t flood at all.

      Yeah, we don’t celebrate Epiphany but that’s why we take the decorations down. It’s a weird thing for us to do really but it’s just something that’s been passed down I guess.

      Like

      1. That’s really cool. I know that some places celebrate Epiphany more than Christmas. It’s great that you continue the tradition in your family 🙂

        Like

  2. The floods have been so bad, and it’s such a shame they happened around Christmas! Luckily, they didn’t reach me but I feel so sad for those whose Christmas and Boxing Day were ruined!

    Anyway, Happy New Year lovely. I hope 2016 is kind to you :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

