Books

WWW Wednesday – 6th January 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

the mysteries of udolphoThe Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe

I started this huge book on the 2nd of January and I just know that it’s going to take me the full month to read. I’ve read extracts of the book before but reading it all is just so daunting.

I do want to have it finished before February though because there’s just no point in dragging it out.

This book is being read for university and as part of my monthly prompt challenge. This book fulfills the prompt: Read a book published before 1900. It was published in 1794 so it fits nicely with that prompt.

The MonlThe Monk by Matthew Lewis

I’ve only read 8% of it (the first chapter) but I didn’t start it until yesterday. So far I’m actually really enjoying it.

I’m reading this for university and as part of the 2016 Classics Challenge which is hosted by Pretty Books.

I need to have this book finished by the end of January so I can move on to the other books that have been set for my university modules.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J K Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's StoneI started reading this on the 3rd of January and I’ve read 30% so far. Reading this series is so nostalgic and I’m already noticing little links to the other books that I’ve never noticed before. It has been 6 years since I last read this series though.

I want to have it completed by the 14th of January so I can start Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

This is the first book I’m reading as part of my re-read challenge. Also, the copy I’m linking to on amazon is not the edition that I own. It’s a newer edition.


Recently finished:

GoldingMetamorphoses by Ovid (Golding’s 1567 translation)

I read this in a day like I expected to. I used the whole of the 1st of January to read this book because I needed to read it for my essay. What a wonderful way to spend the first day of the year.

I enjoyed this version of Metamorphoses more than the new translation but I think that’s because I’m so used to reading Early Modern English that everything else looks weird.

I won’t be reviewing this book.


What I’m reading next:

krakenKraken by China Miéville

I was first introduced to China Miéville’s books in my first year of undergrad which was way back in 2013. Since then I’ve read three of his books – Looking for Jake and Other Stories, The City & The City, and Embassytown – and Kraken will be my fourth.

I want to start this book as soon as I’ve finished either The Monk or The Mysteries of Udolpho and I really hope that I can start (and finish) this book in January.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J K Rowling

I’m looking forward to re-reading the Chamber of Secrets because it was never my favourite book. I always preferred the Prisoner of Azkaban but hopefully this time I’ll really enjoy the Chamber of Secrets.

I’m going to start reading this as soon as I’ve finished reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.


twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 6th January 2016

    1. The Monk seems easier to read too. I’ve read extracts of both before for uni and enjoyed them.

      It’s so nice to re-read Harry Potter. It’s like being smacked in the face with nostalgia sometimes though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

