Books

Book Review – Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily BlueTitle: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult / Paranormal / Fantasy
Date: 2014
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 389
Started: 16th October 2015
Completed: 24th October 2015
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.  Goodreads

Warning: Spoilers ahead! (Maybe)


Blue Lily, Lily Blue is the third book in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. The final book, The Raven King, will be released in 2016.

I have also posted reviews for the first two books in the series, The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves


I really enjoyed this book.

The plot progression was decent. It didn’t seem as developed as the first two books but it does seem to be setting up The Raven King. I loved the development of the story line about Maura and Blue’s father. Even though Maura, Blue’s mother, is missing for most of the book you feel like you’re finally able to understand her. I love that she’s involved with Cabeswater more than you expect her to be.

Adam finally understands his connection with Cabeswater and with Persephone’s guidance he is able to learn more about himself and his abilities. He finally understands his role. Plus, there’s no more love triangle! Blue and Adam are definitely over but there are still secret glances and almost-kisses between Blue and Gansey.

We discover another of Ronan’s secret’s in this book. I’m not going to spoil it for people who haven’t read the book but I wasn’t surprised when it was revealed. It was kind of obvious. I’m sure it’ll be a big part of The Raven King though.


Blue Lily, Lily Blue introduces a whole host of new side characters. Sometimes these new characters seem pointless but Jessie seems the most fleshed out of the new introductions. He owns a cursed cave that Blue and the gang need to explore.

Colin Greenmantle is not a new introduction per se, since he was mentioned in The Dream Thieves, but this is the first book in which he actually appears. He takes over teaching Latin at Aglionby and immediately recognises Ronan as Niall Lynch’s son. He’s still searching for the Greywaren but he has to do it himself now that Mr Gray has left his ‘employment’. Piper, his wife, fantasises about stabbing him while she eats grapes. She’s a woman after my own heart.

We also see Malory for the first time in Blue Lily, Lily Blue. I was a bit disappointed with Malory. He seems to work better as a character when he’s not directly involved in the action of the plot.

I think that the only thing I disliked was the introduction of pointless characters. I honestly don’t know what Malory added to the plot at all.


the raven kingOf course I enjoyed this book but I didn’t like is as much as either The Raven Boys or The Dream Thieves. It just seemed to lack something that the other books had.

I’m looking forward to reading The Raven King when it’s published in April 2016.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who enjoys YA fantasy books.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I agree that there wasn’t as much plot here as in Raven Boys and Dream Thieves but it definitely felt like a solid set up for Raven King. I still loved this book though and I’m glad you did too 😀 Now we just need Raven King to come out already so we can swoon/cry/have our souls destroyed LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do think that The Raven King will destroy me. I’m not ready for it at all. But I also need it now!

      I did still love Blue Lily, Lily Blue but TRB and TDT were just amazing! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

