Food

Recipe: Gnocchi alla Sorrentina

Recipes

Hi everyone! This is my first ever recipe post and I’m sharing one of my Italian favourites with you all. Gnocchi alla Sorrentina is basically just Gnocchi “Sorrento style” and in my opinion it’s delicious. Perfect for a cold afternoon or evening.

I used a recipe that I acquired when I was in Sorrento last year but I made a few tweaks to it because I couldn’t get everything on the ingredients list in the UK and some of the instructions were overly complicated.


Gnocchi alla Sorrentina

Serves 4 | Prep time: 10 mins | Cooking time: 15 mins | Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1kg (2.2lbs) of potato Gnocchi – I didn’t make my own gnocchi because I just don’t have time. I did use fresh gnocchi instead of dried though. Homemade, fresh, or dried will work.
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • 480g (16.8 oz) of tomatoes – The recipe recommended San Marzano tomatoes and they’re available in the UK. You can also just use passata or tomato puree. If you’re using passata then I recommend using about 100g (3.5 oz) per person because it doesn’t thicken as much.
  • Salt – to taste
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil – extra virgin olive oil is preferred
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 70g of grated Parmesan cheese
  • 250g of fresh mozzarella 

Directions:

To make the sauce…

  1. Place peeled tomatoes into a food processor and pulse until smooth.
  2. Put 2 tablespoons of olive oil into a medium pan and when it’s hot add the garlic.
  3. Cook the garlic until it is golden* and then remove it.
  4. Add the pureed tomatoes into to the olive oil and season with salt.
  5. Cook on a medium heat for about 15 minutes, until the sauce has thickened.
  6. Taste and add more salt if needed.
  7. Add a few fresh basil leaves and remove the sauce from the heat.

While the sauce is thickening…

  1. Bring a large pan of salted water to the boil
  2. Add in the gnocchi and wait until they float to the top of the water. This means that they’re cooked.
  3. Using a slotted spoon (I just used a spoon), remove the gnocchi from the boiling water and place them into a bowl.

Then…

  1. Add the sauce and 1/2 of the grated Parmesan to the gnocchi.
  2. Gently mix with a spoon
  3. Put the mixture in an oven dish
  4. Top with mozzarella (cubed or torn) and the remaining Parmesan
  5. Place the dish into a very hot oven (Gas mark 9/457 F/240 C) for 5 minutes until the cheese has melted and the sauce is bubbling hot.
  6. Leave it to rest for a few minutes so you don’t burn yourself.
  7. Serve!

I haven’t included the instructions about how to make gnocchi because I haven’t tried to make it. I just used fresh gnocchi from the supermarket.

*Do not overcook the garlic. It will taste bitter. 


We ate this dish with a non-traditional side of garlic dough balls. However, the gnocchi is enough on it’s own and this dish is great for comfort food.

gnocchi


So, as you’ve probably noticed, this isn’t a post about books. I’m not trying to become a food blog or anything, I just want to share the recipes that I’m trying.

I’m only just learning how to cook so it’s nice to have a place to share the recipes that I’ve enjoyed making. Even if they are super simple.

 

One thought on “Recipe: Gnocchi alla Sorrentina

Leave a Reply

