Books · Tags

The Friends Book Tag

 Hi everyone!

The lovely Charley @ Books and Bakes tagged me in the Friends Book Tag. I’m going to let you all in on a little secret now… I’ve never seen an episode of Friends!

Anyways, now that I’ve got that confession out of the way, let’s get on with the tag.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanThe One Where Eddie Won’t Go:- a character I wish would just go away:

Peter Pettigrew from the Harry Potter series.

I hate him so much. Especially in the Prisoner of Azkaban. What an awful character. It was a difficult decision between him and Umbridge but I actually hate him more.


The One Where Ross and Rachel Take A Break:- favourite break up scene:

I honestly can’t think of a book that I’ve read that includes a break up scene. There’s probably loads but I just can’t think of one…


The One With All The Kissing:- a book with lots of kissing: 

Hmm. I can’t think of a book for this one either. I’m going to go with the best kiss I’ve ever read in literature. That is probably in Lord Byron’s poem Don Juan.

They look’d up to the sky, whose floating glow
Spread like a rosy ocean, vast and bright;
They gazed upon the glittering sea below,
Whence the broad moon rose circling into sight;
They heard the wave’s splash, and the wind so low,
And saw each other’s dark eyes darting light
Into each other—and, beholding this,
Their lips drew near, and clung into a kiss;

A long, long kiss, a kiss of youth, and love,
And beauty, all concentrating like rays
Into one focus, kindled from above;
Such kisses as belong to early days,
Where heart, and soul, and sense, in concert move,
And the blood ‘s lava, and the pulse a blaze,
Each kiss a heart-quake,—for a kiss’s strength,
I think, it must be reckon’d by its length.

By length I mean duration; theirs endured
Heaven knows how long—no doubt they never reckon’d;
And if they had, they could not have secured
The sum of their sensations to a second:
They had not spoken; but they felt allured,
As if their souls and lips each other beckon’d,
Which, being join’d, like swarming bees they clung—
Their hearts the flowers from whence the honey sprung.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows


The Last One:- favourite series finale:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling.

Nothing will beat this book as a series finale! It’s just perfect (if you ignore the epilogue).


Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsThe One With a Blackout:- a scene I’d like to forget:

THE EPILOGUE OF DEATHLY HALLOWS.

If you can’t tell, I seriously hate the epilogue of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. It just feels so cliche. The names of Harry’s children are terrible too. I understand James Sirius but Albus Severus? Really? No.


MockingjayThe One Where Chandler Can’t Cry:- a book that did not make you as emotional as others:

Hmm. I’m going to say Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

I just didn’t get overly emotional at the Prim scene. Or at the end. It just didn’t move me in any way, shape, or form. I don’t know. I know people who cried when they were reading it and I just didn’t.


The One Where Joey Doesn’t Share Food:- a book you won’t ever lend:

Mainly my old books or the books that my parents or grandparents have given me. So that would include:

  • my old Shakespeare books
  • Robinson Crusoe
  • all of my Terry Pratchett books – they were either given to me by my parents or they belonged to my granddad.
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Illustrated)
  • The Complete Works for Alfred, Lord Tennyson
  • The Works of Aphra Behn

harry potter illustrated


The MonlThe One With the Thumb:- a recent read that you would give two thumbs up to:

The Monk by Matthew Lewis.

I’m still reading this book but I’d give it two thumbs up. It’s incredibly grim and horrifying, full of sex and murder, and that’s just what I want from a Gothic novel.

I’m looking forward to finishing it.


Throne of Fire coverThe One With the Ick Factor:- a book with a pet peeve:

I’m going to go with The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan.

I hate love triangles and this book just has the worst one I’ve ever read. It involves Anubis, the god of the afterlife, a magical girl who is the host of an Egyptian goddess, and a cursed boys. Why.


The One With The Lesbian Wedding:- favourite LGBTQ book couple:

This is not technically a book but Shakespeare’s sonnets 1 to 126 are addressed to ‘the Fair Youth’. No-one will ever really know if Shakespeare was romantically involved with the Fair Youth but he definitely admired him. I think that it counts.

A woman’s face with nature’s own hand painted,
Hast thou, the master mistress of my passion;
A woman’s gentle heart, but not acquainted
With shifting change, as is false women’s fashion:
An eye more bright than theirs, less false in rolling,
Gilding the object whereupon it gazeth;
A man in hue, all ‘hues’ in his controlling,
Which steals men’s eyes and women’s souls amazeth.
And for a woman wert thou first created;
Till Nature, as she wrought thee, fell a-doting,
And by addition me of thee defeated,
By adding one thing to my purpose nothing.
But since she prick’d thee out for women’s pleasure,
Mine be thy love and thy love’s use their treasure.

– Sonnet 20 by William Shakespeare


I’m going to tag:

If you’ve already done this tag or you just don’t want to do it then please feel free to ignore this tag 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “The Friends Book Tag

    1. I love the sort of mystery behind it. We’ll never know what happened over 400 years ago but we can try to work it out from beautiful pieces of literature like Shakespeare’s sonnets 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never watched it! My friends shout at me all the time because I’m just not interested in starting it now. I think you had to watch it when I was first on TV to be honest 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

