Books

Book Review – Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver

Title: Shiver
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Romance
Date:
2009
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 434
Started: 25th November 2015
Completed: 8th December 2015
Rating: 3.5/5
Summary: When a local boy is killed by wolves, Grace’s small town becomes a place of fear and suspicion. But Grace can’t help being fascinated by the pack, and by one yellow-eyed wolf in particular. There’s something about him – something almost human. Then she meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away… – Goodreads

Spoilers ahead! I think.


Shiver is the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater. It is followed by Linger and Forever and there is a spin-off to the series called Sinner. I don’t think I’ll be reading the other books in the series. I’m not sure though.

I don’t own this book. I borrowed it from a friend. So I haven’t been able to check the book while I’ve been writing this review.


I liked the overall idea of the book.

The plot was enjoyable enough and I liked this book’s version of werewolf mythology. It was really interesting to read about werewolves that were different to your usual YA werewolves. The idea of winter or cold weather turning them into wolves was an entirely new concept.

I liked the beginning chapter a lot. I remember texting my friend saying ‘ARE THEY TRYING TO EAT HER?’ I was very confused. But it was a great opening to the book and introduced both the wolves and Grace in a really interesting way.

I loved the temperatures at the beginning of the chapters. It was a really nice touch.

The ending was good. It tied up a lot of the loose ends and it was a nice place for the book to finish.


I disliked most of the characters, including the main female character Grace. I found her really annoying actually, along with Olivia, Sam, and Isabel. Safe to say that I didn’t connect to any of the characters at all.

I found a lot of the romance elements really cliched. There was a bit of a love triangle but it was more a case of unrequited love. It felt like a high school romance but that’s exactly what it was so maybe I shouldn’t complain.

I just keep comparing Shiver to The Raven Cycle and I know that I shouldn’t. But TRC is just so good that I couldn’t help being disappointed with this book.


the scorpio racesOverall, I didn’t enjoy it as much as other readers seem to have but it’s still a good book. I don’t think that I’ll be reading the rest of the series though.

I probably should have read this series before The Raven Cycle but I didn’t. I’m 90% sure that TRC has ruined Maggie Stiefvater’s earlier books for me. I’ll try reading The Scorpio Races though to see if that’s true.

Would I recommend this book? Probably. I did enjoy it.


Any thoughts about whether I should continue with this series or not? I’m divided on the issue.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I bought this a while back when it was on sale for Kindle, and then I read quite a few negative reviews of it and put off reading it. I haven’t read the RC series either, so I might read this one first in case I end up feeling the same way. I liked reading your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely read this first. But if you find that you don’t like it then don’t let it out you off reading TRC because that’s excellent.

      I did enjoy this one but I do think that I should have read it first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

