Books

Book Review – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

HP 2

Title: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Children’s Fiction / Young Adult / Fantasy
Date:
2010 (1998)
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 256
Started: 10th January 2016
Completed: 17th January 2016
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: Harry Potter’s summer has included the worst birthday ever, doomy warnings from a house-elf called Dobby, and rescue from the Dursleys by his friend Ron Weasley in a magical flying car! Back at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for his second year, Harry hears strange whispers echo through empty corridors – and then the attacks start. Students are found as though turned to stone . Dobby’s sinister predictions seem to be coming true. – Amazon


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the second book in the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

It was originally released in 1998 (when I was 4) but it has been reprinted several times since then. I read the 2010 Signature edition which I have linked to but I also own the 2014 editions. I think the original edition is somewhere in my house but we may have given them to my sister’s children. If that is the case then they’ve most definitely been destroyed and I may have to go into mourning.


This book was never my favourite of the series and the only one I disliked more was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. However, I really fell in love with it this time.

I enjoyed the plot a lot more than I used to. I think that’s because it links to the later books in so many ways. It just hints at what is come and I love that.

I loved the introduction of Tom Riddle and the flashbacks to his time at school with Hagrid. I think that his manipulation of Harry is fantastic because Harry really believes that Tom will help Ginny at the end.

Ginny Weasley in this book is much better than I remember. She’s amazing in the later books but I think that she’s a great character in this book too. She must have been traumatised by this event and it makes her such a strong character in the series because she moves on and deals with it. My love for Ginny has grown.

One of my favourite parts of the book is when Draco unintentionally reveals the location of his family’s dark objects to Ron. Draco’s role in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is pretty iconic because he’s really set up as Harry’s antagonist/enemy in the dueling chapter but it’s great to see what he’s like in the company of his ‘friends’.

I just really love the character development in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. You learn about the characters’ fears and their abilities and their wit. Oliver Wood becomes more obsessed with Quidditch, even daring to take on McGonagall because a match was cancelled, Percy becomes more human, the Weasley twins manage to be even funnier, Hermione is almost like Sherlock Holmes with her research skills and observations. The characters just become more human in this book and I love it.


My only thing I really dislike about this book is the length of it. I know that it’s a children’s book but it’s so short!

I wish it was longer.


Overall, this is a wonderful book full of magic and character development. I’d really recommend it to anyone.

You’re never too old or too young for Harry Potter. If you’ve seen the films and loved them then I highly recommend reading the books because there’s so much more detail in the books. And, in my opinion, the films ruin certain characters.


This book was read as part of my 2016 Re-read Challenge. Check out my challenge page here.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

