Books · Tags

The Classics Book Tag

Classics Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Erika to do the Classic Book Tag. I love Classics so much and this is such a perfect tag for me.


The Scarlet LetterAn overhyped classic you didn’t really like:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

I just don’t like this book at all. I studied it at university and practically everyone in the class loved it. I didn’t. At all.

I’m so sorry to everyone that loves this book.


Favourite time period to read about:

I love Victorian era classics but also earlier classics too. I don’t know. I’m going to say pre-1900 and leave it at that.


HansFavourite fairy tale:

I love a lot of fairy tales.  I can’t choose just one.

I’m going to say that Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales are my favourites though. I love almost all of them.


Of Mice and MenWhat is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read?

There’s so many.

I’m choosing Of Mice and Men because everyone and their dog has read this book. This is one of the books on the GCSE curriculum in the UK but my teacher hated it so we didn’t do it. I didn’t do it at college or university either. I don’t even know if I want to read it.


Top 5 classics you would like to read soon:

Just 5?

  • Paradise Lost
  • Les Mis
  • Treasure Island
  • Gulliver’s Travels
  • Robinson Crusoe

I own all of these books and I want to read them all in 2016.

Paradise Lost Les Mis cover treasure island Gulliver's Travels Robinson Crusoe


The Song of Achilles coveerFavourite modern book/series based on a classic:

I don’t think I’ve read any. I’ve searched through my shelves and there’s no books that I’ve read that are based on a classic.

I am going to read The Song of Achilles which is based on Homer’s The Iliad but I can’t say it’s my favourite because I haven’t actually read it.


romeo + julietFavourite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:

I love modern versions of Shakespeare plays. Like 10 Things I Hate About You and She’s The Man. They’re only loosely based on the plays but I just think that they can be a great introduction to Shakespeare.

My favourite Shakespeare film though is Romeo + Juliet from 1996. It’s amazing. No one can convince me otherwise. I will always love it.


Worst classic to movie adaptation:

I don’t know. I hate pretty much all of the Frankenstein adaptations. They just never show the meaning of the story properly in my opinion. I also hate it when they call the creature Frankenstein because that is wrong. I’m not going to pick out a specific film though because there’s so many.


Favourite edition(s) you would like to collect more classics from:

The Barnes and Noble leatherbound editions or the Penguin Clothbound Classics. I do own a few books from both of these collections and I’d love more.

Paradise Lost The Iliad and the Odyssey

 


Brave New World coverAn underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

Hmm. Probably Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

I dont know if it’s exactly ‘underhyped’ but 1984 by George Orwell gets a lot of attention and this is almost the opposite of that novel. It’s still dystopian but Huxley imagines a very different world to Orwell and it’s fantastic.

I didn’t like it when I first read it because I was in love with 1984 but I did enjoy it the second time around.


I don’t know who to tag because Erika has tagged the people I would have!

If you love classics then please do this tag. It’s such a great tag to take part in!

7 thoughts on “The Classics Book Tag

Leave a Reply

