Books · Personal

January 2016 Recap

month recap

Wow! The first month of 2016 has gone by in a flash.

It’s been a weird month. I’m glad it’s over.

Warning: This is going to be a long post.


Personal

I’ve been at home for almost the whole of January because university doesn’t start back up until the 8th of February. And I’ve had assignments to do.

I only ventured out on four occasions. Firstly, I went shopping with my mum on the 12th to give me a break from university work. I bought three new Funko Pop! Vinyl figures (Voldemort, Hermione, and Captain America). That takes me total up to 7 now. 3 Harry Potter figures and 4 Marvel figures. I also pre-ordered an Evie Frye (Assassin’s Creed Syndicate) figure but she hasn’t turned up yet. I wish I had Black Widow too. I think that she’s going to be my next purchase. I need to take some photos of my small Funko collection in February.

Secondly, I had an exam on the 14th. Dun dun duuuunnnnn. It went badly. But it was only worth 10% of the module. And the module was only worth half of a normal module. So I guess it was only worth 5% of a normal module. Which meant that it was only worth 2.5% of my semester grade. I don’t even want to work out how much it contributes to my final MA grade because it must be less than 1%. I don’t know why I got so worked up over it now that I consider it.

Finally, on the 19th I had a very busy day. I had 2 academic essays, a translation, and a case-study due in. The two essays were fine. I really enjoyed writing them both. The translation was great until I got to the 500 word commentary at the end. I hate having to justify myself. However, the case-study was horrendous. I had no idea what I was doing and I’m 95% sure that I failed that element of the assessment. Oh well.

On the same day I met with one of my tutors to discuss PhDs. I’m planning on applying next year, for the 2017 academic year, and she gave me some really great advice about applying. I’m waiting so that I can concentrate on my grades and stuff this year. I also want a small break from education and I want to spend a couple of months in early 2017 travelling.

I had a meeting about my work placement at university on the 19th too. It was just a really informal meeting and I’m looking forward to starting the placement in February. Wow, Tuesday the 19th was a busy day.

Finally, I went shopping with my mum on the 23rd. I spent £60 on Bobbi Brown make-up and brushes. I love their make-up because it really suits my olive toned skin. Normally foundations and concealers are too pink for me and they look horrendous. But Bobbi Brown also have yellow/green based make-up and they suit me so nicely. I’m thinking about writing a post about their make up but I might wait until I’ve bought a foundation from them in a couple of weeks.

Overall, it’s been a boring month except for those few days.


Books I’ve bought

  • The Grownup by Gillian Flynn
  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  • Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  • The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
  • Monsters Of Men by Patrick Ness

Total: 13 books

The Grownup only cost me £1.99, I bought the Chaos Walking trilogy for just £6.99 from The Book People, and the HP books are the 2014 editions (I already owned the 2010 editions).


Books I’ve read

  • Metamorphoses by Ovid (Arthur Golding’s 1567 translation)
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

Total: 3 books


Book reviews

Total: 6 reviews


This month in posts:

Tags:

Other:


January Goals

  • Complete and hand in essays
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Post at least 1 recipe
  • Sort out a February TBR
  • Buy my friend’s birthday present
  • Lose 4lbs
  • Post more on instagram

February Goals

  • Start my work placement
  • See my best friend for her birthday
  • Post at least 1 book review
  • Post at least 1 recipe
  • Sort out a March TBR
  • Complete my book challenges for this month
  • Buy at least 1 book

I hope that everyone has had a great month!

Leave a Reply

