Books

Top Ten Tuesday – 23rd February 2016

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Five Books I Enjoyed Recently (in the last year or so) That Were Out of My Comfort Zone.

I’ve chosen to do 5 books instead of 10 because I stick to my comfort zone way too much.


This list is in no particular order…

1. The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen – I really enjoyed this book. It’s in the YA Romance genre and it doesn’t have any supernatural features at all which means that normally I wouldn’t even think about picking it up. Usually, if I’m going to read a YA novel it needs to have either supernatural elements or be set in a utopian or dystopian world. But I enjoyed this book despite the lack of supernatural elements.

2. Killing Floor by Lee Child – I thought about reading Killing Floor for such a long time before I actually picked it up. I almost convinced myself that I wouldn’t enjoy it because of the military aspect to it but it’s such a great book! I’m really looking forward to reading more of the series in 2016.

3. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke – If I hadn’t watched the BBC mini series then I would never have read this. I don’t normally read pseudo-historical fiction because I find it dull. This is completely the opposite. It’s full of magic and action and the setting enhanced the plot.

4. The Faerie Queene by Edmund Spenser – I love epic poems but The Faerie Queene always seemed too concerned with Knights and religion for my taste. However, I’m so glad I’ve read it because it’s a wonderful poem. Spenser wrote so beautifully and I love this poem.


Okay, so I only made it to 4 books. Like I said, I like to stick to my comfort zone. Hopefully over the next year I’ll branch out a bit more but I probably won’t.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 23rd February 2016

Leave a Reply

