Books

WWW Wednesday -2nd March 2016

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

krakenKraken by China Miéville

I still haven’t made much progress with this book. I don’t need to read Zofloya for a while though so I can concentrate on Kraken for a while.

I’m enjoying it a lot so far though. I love Miéville’s books and this is no different. I just really enjoy his weird books.

I hope to have this finished by next week so I can concentrate on Zofloya.

Zofloya: or The Moor by Charlotte Dacre

ZofloyaThis book is my next read for university. It’s supposedly inspired by The Monk and it’s meant to be quite shocking. I’m really looking forward to starting it and studying it.

I’m also reading it as part of two of my reading challenges. The first is my prompt challenge as it fulfills the prompt ‘read a book by an author I’ve never read before’. I’ve never even heard of Charlotte Dacre but I love reading women’s writing from different periods. This book is also part of my 2016 Classics Challenge. 


Recently finished:

GrownupThe Grownup by Gillian Flynn

I don’t know how I feel about this book. I kind of enjoyed it but it left a bit to be desired too. Maybe it was a bit too short.

I’m thinking of writing a really quick, short review so that I can work through my thoughts about this book.

I really wanted to enjoy it but I just feel a bit weird about it.

The MonlThe Monk by Matthew Lewis

I have finally finished this epic book! I loved it so much. It was everything you’d want in a Gothic book and more. It’s such a good book. Much better than The Mysteries of Udolpho in my opinion!

I’m very much looking forward to reviewing this book but there’s a few books in line to be reviewed first.


What I’m reading next:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

I didn’t manage to read this in February like I originally planned so it’s going to be one of the first books I read in March (after the books I’m currently reading).

I’m reading this book as part of my self-made re-read challenge. I read the first two books in the Harry Potter series in January so I’m looking forward to continuing with this challenge in March.


twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday -2nd March 2016

Leave a Reply

