Books

Top Ten Tuesday: 22nd March 2016

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough

I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday in a while. Mainly because I haven’t liked the topics and I just haven’t had a lot of time to actually write a TTT post. This week’s topic really interested me though and it’s given me a few post ideas because I’d really love to talk about these book in detail rather than just list them. Talking about all 10 in detail on this post would just be too much in my opinion.

Okay, let’s get on with the list…


The Picture of Dorian Gray1. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I really love this book. I just love Oscar Wilde in general if I’m honest.

I’m thinking about doing a post comparing the themes of this book to The Importance of Being Earnest and looking at Oscar Wilde’s interest in social commentary and social critique.

That post seems like it could turn into an essay but I’d love to write it.

The outsider2. The Outsider by Albert Camus

Or The Stranger by Albert Camus. Which ever you prefer. This book goes by different names in the English language because it’s a translation and it seems to confuse a few people.

I really love Camus’ writing and I need to read more of it. I want to do a post about my favourite translated books and this would feature heavily. I really want to read The Plague by Camus too.

The City and the city3. The City & The City by China Mieville

I feel like I need to introduce more people to China Mieville’s books even though they’re very weird and often confusing.

The City and The City is perhaps my favourite of his books and I could talk about it forever. I even wrote an essay on it for my degree. Once I’ve read a few more of his books I’d like to do a post about my love for this author.

into the wild4. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer

I feel like I should write a post about how this book crushed my soul when I was 19. It’s a very moving book and it’s also very inspirational to me.

It’s the only non-fiction book that I truly love (I know that I should read more non-fiction but it never happens). I’ve never seen the film version of this book and I don’t know if I should to be honest. I don’t want to ruin my love for the book.

the left hand of darkness5. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin

This book just amazes me. It’s just so good. I really recommend reading this book because Ursula Le Guin is just a fabulous writer. I don’t think I’ve ever written about it on this blog which surprises me because I love it. I’m going to write a post on female Science Fiction/Speculative Fictions writers. I want to do that post before April because it’s Women’s History Month and I feel like I should write a post to celebrate female writers. So look out for that post within the next week!

the yellow wallpaper6. The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman*

Charlotte Perkins Gilman is another female writer that I absolutely love and she’ll feature in my female SF writer post. Not for this story though.

The Yellow Wallpaper is one of my favourite short stories of all time and I think a lot of people have read this one because it’s a standard college/university text. If you haven’t read this story then please do. It’s fantastic.

The Hobbit7. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkein

I’ve never ever written about my love for The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Isn’t that strange? I don’t think I’ve ever talked about my love for the films either (except the last film in The Hobbit series).

I really want to re-read The Lord of the Rings and read The Silmarillion for the first time. Maybe once I’ve read The Silmarillion I’ll write a post about this collection of books.

Do Androids Dream8. Do Android’s Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick

I should probably have some bad feelings attached to this book. I was told to read it by a guy who kind of broke my heart. Despite my dislike for him I will always be grateful to him for making me read this book.

I love it so much and I really need to read more of Philip K Dick’s books. I’m just so glad that I still love this book after everything that has happened.

wasp factory9. The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks

This may be the weirdest book that I’ve ever read but it’s one of the best. It’s just amazing and when I re-read it I’ll definitely review it.

I first read it when I was 16 for my A-Levels and I didn’t appreciate the book until I actually did a creative writing assessment where I had to mimic Iain Banks’ writing style. I had to write a ‘missing scene’ from the story and it really helped me to understand the characters and the plot.

a room with a view10. A Room with a View by E. M. Forster

I love this book. I feel like I’ve said that a lot in this post but it’s true.

I’ve never written about E.M. Forster at all on this blog and it’s such a shame because he was a wonderful author. I think I’d love to write a full post about this book alone. It’s a really lovely story that explores important themes of the early 1900s. It’s funny, sweet, romantic, and optimistic. Maybe I’ll just re-read it and review it.


I’ve realised that I could have gone on forever with this list. It’s inspired me to branch out with the type of posts that I write and I plan on writing a lot of posts on my favourite books in the future. Watch this space…

Please leave me a comment if you’d like to read any of the posts that I’m suggesting in this list. I will be writing a post about female SF writers very soon though.


* The Yellow Wallpaper can be bought as a Penguin Little Black Classic for just 80p. So go out and buy it if you don’t already own it!

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 22nd March 2016

  1. I’m excited for more posts! I love Oscar Wilde too. Comparing themes would be really interesting, I hadn’t really thought about those similarities before. One of my English professors loved talking about China Mieville but I haven’t seen a lot of discussion outside of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Oscar Wilde post I’m planning could turn into a high essay-like post if I’m not careful. I’ll try to avoid writing 3000+ words though.

      I got into China Miéville’s books because of one of my university tutors. She loved talking about him too. His books are excellent.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m just writing that post now so hopefully it’ll be up before the weekend! I love SF, it’s one of my favourite genres, and I feel like female writers should get more love.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was taking part in an Instagram challenge for Women’s History Month and I failed so bad. I’m going to make this final week or so count though and post a photo every day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I so agree on The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings – they seem to get left out with all the newer fantasy coming out but most of those new ones wouldn’t even exist if not for Tolkien! They will forever have a special place in my heart ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree. There’s not a lot of love for LotR at the moment because of all of the newer fantasy books. But everyone knows about LotR and The Hobbit so I guess I understand why people talk about the new stuff more 🙂

      Like

  3. I love the diversity of your list: men, women, young, old, English or not, everything is included! 🙂

    If you liked “L’ Étranger” I definitely recommend you read “La Peste” and “La Chute” by Camus. They are a little bit more difficult (especially the latter, which has a more philosophical aspect) but the three of them are the author’s social ideas disguised into novels.

    I also love Oscar Wilde, his books, short stories, plays -everything. I think he was one of the first English writers whose work I ever read from the original!

    Last but not least, since I have tons of unread books, I’ll just look for “The Yellow Wallpaper” which is a short story and easily accessible (and I have never heard of)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

