Books

WWW Wednesday – 23rd March 2016

 

WWW Wed

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

krakenKraken by China Miéville

I’ve mad a little bit of progress this week. I’ve only read one chapter but it’s progress.

I hope to have this completed by this weekend so that I can concentrate on The Colour of Magic. That means that I’m going to be concentrating on this book for the next couple of days.

I am really enjoying it though, despite the slow progress.

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchettthe colour of magic cover

I’ve read a few of the Discworld novels already but they’ve always been out of order. This year I want to start at the beginning and work my way through as many of them as possible.

That means I’m starting with The Colour of Magic . If I can finish this book (and Kraken) before April then I’ll have completed all of the books on my TBR for the first time this year. So, fingers crossed I can finish this before next week.


Recently finished:

the scorch trialsThe Scorch Trials by James Dashner

This is quite easily the best sequel I’ve read in a long time (apart from The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater).

I just LOVED it. So much. I can’t believe how much I enjoyed it. It’s on par with my love for The Maze Runner. I might even love The Scorch Trials a little bit more if I’m honest.

the death cureThe Death Cure by James Dashner

I wasn’t planning on reading this for a couple of months at least  but I loved The Scorch Trials so much that I started this book straight after finishing The Scorch Trials. I completed it in about 5 hours. I just devoured this book.

I didn’t enjoy it as much as The Scorch Trials but I didn’t think it was disappointing like a lot of people seem to. I really enjoyed it and I loved the ending. It was a really good end to the trilogy (in my opinion) and I’m looking forward to read the prequel(s) very soon.

Die TryingDie Trying by Lee Child

I didn’t plan on finishing this book yet either. I was just in a reading frenzy on Saturday because I managed to finish Die Trying after both The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure. What an amazing reading day.

Anyways, despite how long it took me to really get into this book I really enjoyed it. The Jack Reacher books are just really gripping and I’m going to read Tripwire next month.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

I started this book on Sunday evening and I finished this book on Tuesday evening. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite Harry Potter book and re-reading it hasn’t changed that fact.

Sirius and Remus are two of my favourite HP characters. I love Hogsmede. I love the plot of this book. I should really stop writing because I plan on reviewing this book and I’m going to reveal all of my thoughts if I continue.


What I’m reading next:

Northanger AbbeyNorthanger Abbey by Jane Austen

This is a re-read for university. The first time I read this I disliked it. The second time I read this I hated it. Third time lucky?

I have some serious prejudice against this book. It’s my least favourite Austen novel. I much prefer Mansfield Park. Oh well.

Who knows. Maybe I’ll enjoy it this time.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

One thought on “WWW Wednesday – 23rd March 2016

Leave a Reply

