Books

Book Review – The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the BaskervillesTitle: The Hound of the Baskervilles

Author: Arthur Conan Doyle
Genre: Classics/Mystery/Crime
Date:
2011 (1902)
Publisher: Penguin
Pages: 224
Started: 14th December 2015
Completed: 28th December 2015
Rating: 4/5
Summary: ‘Mr. Holmes, they were the footprints of a gigantic hound!’

The death, quite suddenly, of Sir Charles Baskerville in mysterious circumstances is the trigger for one of the most extraordinary cases ever to challenge the brilliant analytical mind of Sherlock Holmes. As rumours of a legendary hound said to haunt the Baskerville family circulate, Holmes and Watson are asked to ensure the protection of Sir Charles’ only heir, Sir Henry – who has travelled all the way from America to reside at Baskerville Hall in Devon. And it is there, in an isolated mansion surrounded by mile after mile of wild moor, that Holmes and Watson come face to face with a terrifying evil that reaches out from centuries past… – Amazon


the return of sherlock holmes coverthe valley of fearThe Hound of the Baskervilles is the third novel in the Sherlock Holmes series but it was preceded by many short stories. It’s the 6th book in my series, preceded by The Return of Sherlock Holmes and followed by The Valley of Fear.

The Hound of the Baskervilles is probably the most famous story of them all and it has been adapted into films, TV shows, stage shows, and even a video game.


Arthur Conan Doyle has a very clever, witty style in his Sherlock Holmes novels and short stories and this book is no exception. The writing is superb and it captivates you as much as the plot. There’s also a lot of humour in the book which breaks up the serious nature of the case Holmes and Watson are working on.

I was glad to see that Dr John Watson had more of a role in this book. He wasn’t just a sidekick for Holmes or a narrator, instead he’s an integral part of the investigation as Holmes claims to be ‘too busy’ for the case. Watson’s own investigative skills are on show in this novel but Holmes still solves the case in the end. I really enjoyed the mini mystery at the beginning of the novel where Holmes puts Watson to the test as they try to deduct who owns the mysterious cane that has been left in their office. It was just a nice way to start a book filled with so many mysteries.

The case of the Hound makes for an intriguing plot and it’s full of twists. I was shocked by some of them and it’s great when you can get so invested in a book that it genuinely shocks you. The conclusion to the case is very satisfying too and there’s a host of interesting characters who are all essential to the plot. I don’t want to spoil the plot though so I can’t really talk about it too much. It’s everything I expected from a Sherlock Holmes novel and I wasn’t left feeling disappointed.


My only problem with this book is the length of it. After reading so many Sherlock Holmes short stories I found The Hound of the Baskervilles slightly too long. I think if it was shorter it would be more action-packed but this is only a personal opinion and not a criticism.

It really is a fantastic book but the length is just a bit of a shock after so many short stories.


Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I love the Sherlock Holmes stories and this is a great example of Arthur Conan Doyle’s amazing writing.

I’d definitely recommend this book and all of the Sherlock Holmes books.

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

9 thoughts on “Book Review – The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

    1. I think it was the inspiration for one of the cases in the Ace Attorney series. But of a random fact.

      I do enjoy the short stories more but my favourite novel (so far) is The Sign of Four.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmm. Maybe The Dancing Men or The Six Napoleons. You?

        My favourite collection is The Return of Sherlock Holmes though 🙂

        Like

      2. I like The Five Orange Pips too. It’s a good one. Ah, okay. They’re the stories that start after he dies in The Final Problem.

        I haven’t been to the museum but I’m going to London in August so maybe I’ll get to go then!

        Like

      3. I’m defnitely going to reread them soon. That sounds awesome. Let me know nearer the time if you want some company going. I’ve not been in years and would be cool to take some photos for the blog.

        Like

Leave a Reply

