Books

WWW Wednesday – 13th April 2016

WWW Wed

 

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words. (Formally hosted at Should Be Reading)

The only rules are to answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently reading:

Frankenstein 1818Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I love this book. This is my 5th time reading it. I’m so glad that it’s on my reading list for uni because I needed to justify reading this book again when I’ve got so many new books waiting to be read.

I’m currently over half way through this book and it shouldn’t take me too long to finish it as I already know it so well.

the night managerThe Night Manager by John le Carré

I’m really enjoying this book so far. I haven’t read much of it because I’m concentrating on Frankenstein.

It’s different from the BBC series but I can’t stop imagining Jonathan Pine as Tom Hiddleston. I don’t know if this is a good thing or not.

I imagine that I’ll have finished this by the weekend because as soon as I’m done with Frankenstein I’m going to devour this book.


Recently finished:

Northanger AbbeyNorthanger Abbey by Jane Austen

I still hate this book. I just can’t put my finger on why though. I just don’t like the plot, I think it’s silly, and I don’t like the characters. I do like the writing though.

I’m currently in the middle of writing a review for this book so it should be up next week. Maybe. If not then it’ll definitely be the week after next.

I really wish that I could have enjoyed this book.

TripwireTripwire by Lee Child

I loved this! I think it’s my favourite of the Jack Reacher books so far (I’ve only read 3 though).

It was just thrilling from the beginning and it really kept me guessing. I’m so glad I decided to read it this week because I needed a book like this after reading Northanger Abbey.


What I’m reading next:

The VampyreThe Vampyre by John William Polidori

This is another book that I’m reading for university. I’ve never read it before so I’m looking forward to starting it.

It’s only a short story so it shouldn’t take too long to read. I hope to have it finished on the same day that I start reading it. I may read some of the other ‘tales of macabre’ in this collection too but my focus is on The Vampyre. 

EragonEragon by Christopher Paolini

I’ve had this book on my TBR for almost 10 years. That’s insane.

I always see it on my shelf and think ‘I want to read that’ but I never pick it up. So I’m forcing myself to read it by ensuring that it fills one of my monthly prompts. I will read this book in April. I will.


What are you reading this week? Let me know in the comments!

twitter 1    goodreads    instagram

11 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 13th April 2016

  1. Fifth time wow. Have only read it the once. Are you a fan of the cover you have? You’re ahead of me on Jack Reacher books. I’ve read two. My sis wasn’t a fan of that Austen either. I’ve read her two most famous. Maybe Emma next.

    Like

    1. It’s one of the only Oxford World Classic’s that I don’t like actually. I like the penguin cloth bound edition much more even though it’s just covered in hearts.

      I think you either love Austen or you don’t. I unfortunately don’t. Mansfield Park isn’t bad though, I guess.

      Like

      1. I’ve read 4 of her 6 novels, I haven’t read Emma or Persuasion, and I’ve also read her short work Lady Susan.

        If you’ve read her most famous then I’m guessing that you’ve read ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and ‘Sense and Sensibility’?

        Like

    1. I think the length of it (and it’s sequels) has always put me off a bit but I really want to read it.

      She was 16 when she first wrote it and 18 when it was published. What an amazing writer and woman.

      I unfortunately don’t get to re-read Dracula for my course but I don’t need an excuse to re-read that book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

