Authors · Books

#Shakespeare400 – Villain, I Have Done Thy Mother

Shakespeare 400 Quotes

The title of this post is a quote from Shakespeare’s Titus Andronicus and it is one of the most memorable quotes that Shakespeare ever wrote. 

William Shakespeare shaped the English language as we know it today and his literature provided some of our every day sayings and most loved quotes. This post is a celebration of Shakespeare’s language and my favourite of Shakespeare’s quotes.

This is the final post in my #Shakespeare400 series and today has been a wonderful day of celebration for me and everyone else who loves Shakespeare.

I’m going to choose 25 quotes from Shakespeare’s plays and poetry. I would include more but this post will get a bit long if I do…


1. The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves. – Julius Caeser: Act 1, scene 2 

2. Me, poor man, my library
Was dukedom large enough. 
– The Tempest: Act 1, scene 2

3. Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind; and therefore is winged Cupid painted blind. – A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Act 1, scene 1

4. The barge she sat in, like a burnish’d throne, burn’d on the water. – Antony and Cleopatra: Act 2, scene 2

5. The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool. – As You Like It: Act 5, scene 1

6. Doubt thou the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.
– Hamlet: Act 2, scene 2

7. Gratiano speaks an infinite deal of nothing – The Merchant of Venice: Act 1, scene 1

8. These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder
Which, as they kiss, consume 
– Romeo and Juliet: Act 2, scene 6

9. Let me be that I am and seek not to alter me – Much Ado About Nothing: Act 1, scene 3

10. Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing. 
– Macbeth: Act 5, scene 5

11. Be not afraid of greatness. Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and others have greatness thrust upon them. – Twelfth Night: Act 2, scene 5

12. The moon’s an arrant thief, And her pale fire she snatches from the sun. – Timon of Athens: Act 4, scene 3

13. Now is the winter of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this sun of York;
And all the clouds that lour’d upon our house
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried. 
– Richard III: Act 1, scene 1

14. O, beware, my lord, of jealousy;
It is the green-ey’d monster, which doth mock
The meat it feeds on. 
– Othello: Act 3, scene 3

15. Thou sodden-witted lord! thou hast no more brain than I have in mine elbows. – Troilus and Cressida: Act 2, scene 1

16. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove. 
– Sonnet 116

17. For sweetest things turn sourest by their deeds – Sonnet 94

18. For I have sworn thee fair, and thought thee bright,
Who art as black as hell, as dark as night.
– Sonnet 147

19. All days are nights to see till I see thee,
And nights bright days when dreams do show thee me 
– Sonnet 43

20. And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare
As any she belied with false compare. – Sonnet 130

21. Enjoy’d no sooner but despised straight,
Past reason hunted, and no sooner had
Past reason hated 
– Sonnet 129

22. Why didst thou promise such a beauteous day
And make me travel forth without my cloak,
To let base clouds o’ertake me in my way,
Hiding they brav’ry in their rotten smoke? 
– Sonnet 34

23. Love is my sin, and thy dear virtue hate,
Hate of my sin, grounded on sinful loving 
– Sonnet 142

24. Is it thy will they image should keep open
My heavy eyelids to the weary night?
Dost thou desire my slumbers should be broken,
While shadows like to thee do mock my sight? – Sonnet 61

25. Love comforeth like sunshine after rain,
But Lust’s effect is tempest after sun.
Love’s gentle spring doth always fresh remain;
Lust’s winter comes ere summer half be done.
Love surfeits not, Lust like a glutton dies;
Love is all truth, Lust full of forged lies. – Venus and Adonis


That’s it! 25 of my favourite Shakespeare quotes. It was fun to share these with all of you and I’ve enjoyed writing this series of Shakespeare posts so much. Pick a quote, any quote, and leave it in the comments below!

In other news: I’m considering doing a post about Early Modern literature once a month. It’s my area of interest and expertise so I’d like to write more about Shakespeare, Wyatt, John Donne, Marlowe, Kyd, and all of the other amazing writers from this era.

These posts would be entirely self indulgent because they’d be mainly for my enjoyment but maybe someone else will like my insights into Renaissance literature. 

4 thoughts on “#Shakespeare400 – Villain, I Have Done Thy Mother

Leave a Reply

